Off again!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Plymouth
January 20th 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dear Friends,

I'm dusting down this travelblog to let you know I'm off on a new adventure! Tomorrow I fly to Sri Lanka where I'll be be doing voluntary work with tsunami survivors.

Towards the end of 2003, while I was working in India, I took a weekend trip to Sri Lanka. I completely adored the place and vowed to return one day to see more. Sadly, just a few months laters, the southern part of the island was decimated by the Boxing Day tsunami. We've all seen the dreadful pictures. Thirty thousand people died in Sri Lanka alone. I wonder about the people I encountered on that short trip, those I met and those that just waved and smiled. I don't imagine that the rustic beachside cabin I stayed in is still standing. Sobering thoughts...

So my return is not quite the carefree holiday I'd imagined. I'm expecting it to be pretty intense being there, seeing the destruction (even one year on) and meeting people that have been through such an experience. I imagine I'll feel all sorts of emotions; despair, anger even, but maybe ultimately hope too.

The project that I've joined is both conservation and community development. I could be teaching english or clearing beaches, basically whatever's needed. Further details on this link: Tsunami Relief Work in Sri Lanka

I'll be working for four weeks, then I have a week or so to travel. I don't know how good the internet access will be, but I hope I'll be able to get at least a couple of updates in while I'm away. As they say - watch this space!

Hope everyone reading this is safe, well and happy. Keep in touch, I'd love to hear from you!

Ali
x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.118s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb