Day 16: Exebridge to Holsworthy


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Holsworthy
September 16th 2017
Published: September 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

As breakfast was included, I had advised the B & B owners that I would like to be eating at 7:45, so I could get on the road by 8:30. After yesterday's cycle, rain, and hills, it took some convincing and coersion for me to meet my commitment and put my feet to the floor.

Again the B & B owner's outdid themselves, and after a good, simple, breakfast, more enjoyable conversation and a coffee re-boost, I was ready for todays challenge.

Tent dried and packed, shoe's dried and bolted to feet, I was on my way. Again, rain was anticipated, but not until the afternoon. As such, and forwarned about hills, I prepared for the climb. And there was a climb or two. As had happen previously, I climb the wrong offshoot of a lane and not wanting to retreat downwards and climb again, I rerouted to link back to the cycle route further along. Before long I appeared to be at the ridge (the clue being my intersecting with "Ridge Road"). Surprisingly, the climb did not seem so bad after all (my memory is like a goldfish, perhaps).

A few more minor uphill grades, a couple of switch backs, and I was moving along remarkable well. The rain returned earlier than expected, but it did abate once I was suitably saturated (I judge whether there is benefit to donning raingear, and not always correctly).

Later on, the sun came out and highlighted the Devon lowlands below. I was also able to glimpse the Celtic Sea, off in the distance.

Rolling down the other side of Exmoor, I came across a bottleneck of horses, riders, and traffic. About 50 riders in a mix of red and black jackets, and black caps, had congregating at a hilltop intersection, with about 30 more heading up the road. These were followed by a jam of cars and trucks. Further down I had to navigate around a parade of Landrovers and horse trailers parked on the road (not roadside, as there is no roadside). After which I went screaming down into the valley, followed by my muscles screaming as I climbed out the other side. Then I found a relatively busy cycle path, and some degree of level, and figured I was nearing a town.

In Barnstaple, I came across a Subway and decided a sub sandwich and coffee were in order. Upon finishing, I tended to my gritty gears, and oiled up my gritty and chattering chain.

Leaving Barnststaple, I was immediately on an old rail line trail. The trail then ran along the rivers Taw and Torridge and into the lands beyond. This resulted in about 40 km of relative bliss (other than half a kilometre where recent rains changed the trail to river). Along the trail, I stopped at a converted rail car cafe for a smoothie and scone. In Bideford, I was questioned by an older gent, new to biking, who believed I looked worthy of imparting knowledge. Discussion's diverted to my cycle challenge, Canada, and other topics, before I moved on some 30 minutes later.

And, of course,... back came the rain. Kings Inn, in Holsworthy was my alternative to tenting. Expedia and Internet save the day again. After a good meal and ale, I headed to my room to try booking my train return (with bike) to Newcastle.

Being closer to my final destination of Lands End, I felt it was time to book a return train, as an actual completion date was becoming clear. No such luck tonight, as I had to phone in a reservation for the bike, and the rail line's customer service was closed and not opening until Monday.

With the day's duties done, it was off to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb