Ecuatoriana & the Galapagos - 3 days to go!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Matlock
June 4th 2008
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As most of you know I, along with my Dad, am about to embark on my next holiday adventure. This time my travels are taking me back to South America to visit Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands. I shall be away for 22 days flying into Quito, capital city of Ecuador (and the second highest city in the world) via Madrid. The highlights of the trip will include Quito, Otavalo and Saquisili, the volanic peaks of Cotopaxi, Chimborazo and Tungurahua, the Amazon Jungle, Devils Nose railway and of course 7 nights sailing and visiting some of the Galapagos Islands. We will be travelling via plane, coach, motorised canoe, train and motor cruiser staying in hotels, jungle camp, hosteria and boat!

Hopefully, I will be able to update my blog as we go along if internet access is available and will do my best to add some photo's where possible. The weather at the moment in Quito is wet and cold, Guayaquil is thunderstorms and Otavalo rain and it is supposed to be the dry season! Still we are both excited and despite a few minor setbacks (stomach bug for me; Dad falling over and thinking he had broken his back) we are raring to go! Bring on new adventures, friends, cultures, wildlife and experiences ...........

Advertisement



5th June 2008

Have a fantastic time! Make sure you put on lots of sunblock as the sun is very hot there, being on the equator. Also, watch out for all those Equadorian men who might want to marry you! Buen viaje!
5th June 2008

Have fun!
Your trip sounds amazing - I hope you have an excellent time.
18th June 2008

Galaps
Hey, I haven't been there in 30 yrs. Do you have any good ideas of how to get there on the cheap. ...And live there cheap. It so happens that I and my daughter arrive to Quito on June 23rd, the Galaps are not really on our agenda, but if I could find a cheap way to get there, I would love to treat Laura, my daughter, to such a great jig. Just super jacked up to hit the road again and besides my daughter invited me, whou, a get out of town free card. I'm so lucky TP
1st July 2008

Hi. Not sure if you are still in Ecuador but if you have time it is definitely worth going to the Galapagos. I had an awesome time. You can get cheap flights with Aerogal from Guayaquil (about $40 I think) and fly intro Baltra (on Santa Cruz) or San Cristobal. There are loads of companies offering day trips or short cruises if you don't have a lot of time and all are very competitive. I had organised my trip from the UK but it would have been easy and probably cheaper to do it there. The Rough Guide has some useful advice about booking your own cruise which you can probably access online. Enjoy!

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0942s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb