Day 9 - National Forest - Hathersage


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Hathersage
May 7th 2014
Published: May 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Off into Burton today to say goodbye to Pat - he was off back south on the train today. A short but pleasant little run into Burton - a good looking little town with the slow River Trent running right through the middle of it - I could not believe though how many beers are brewed here though.



Those people of Burton certainly seem to know their beer

Nearly everyone I know of, seems to come from here.

They weave their magic on the old River Trent

On stuff we should have no regrets when we have spent

Our cash, on tears and tales and merriment and laughter

And philosophies about the now, here and after

And when in the morn we awake all a quiver

Don't feel bad - just blame it on the river.



So it was goodbye to Pat and then I meandered my way out of Burton past all the famous breweries and then again I was on my own. I went through some nice looking but in all honesty unspectacular towns and views. Nestle have a big factory round here where I think they make or probably package the famous Nescafe coffee.

The weather was cloudy and I was heading for Bakewell for lunch. I think I arrived about 3pm and sat down by the river and had some rolls and a drink. I was here in the mid - late 90's with Louise so it was all vaguely familiar in that sense when you see it you remember this and that view and street - a nice place but after about 30 minutes back on the bike again just as it started raining !!! It then got heavier and I had to stop for shelter but quick as it started it stopped again and the day was ok for the rest of the time.

I think about 20 miles left to Hathersage, writing this a couple of weeks later, and remembering this run, whilst it was all pleasant this part of the dales were a little underwhelming (or maybe I was getting blasé at this stage) and it was a case of getting the miles done. Again very pleasing when the small town of Hathersage comes into view. A quick cycle up and down showed a couple of pubs and restaurants. Checked into the tidy and friendly hostel and then off to one of the pubs for a tea of beef suet pudding and chips - delicious (to date no weight loss I think - most surprising !!).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb