Derbyshire 125 -Chesterfield /Red, Amber and Green , whats a number between friends ?/those pesky blackbirds


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Chesterfield
May 31st 2020
Published: May 31st 2020
Edit Blog Post

Teoday was always going to be a difficult day . I couldn't sleep last night. I was awake at 2.40 fumbling round for the light to see what time it was. It was too hot to sleep and sleep ended up fitful all night . But then it would have today . I never sleep well thinking I have to get up for the train in the morning . Always afraid of oversleeping I tend to stay awake thinking. It was a moonlit night and the light was shining in through the blinds . It should have been shining in through Gabbys blinds as we slept the last sleep of our Spring holiday . When I did wake all I could do was look at my watch and think where would I be now . Eating my last french breakfast in France . Walking the only thing that reminded me of Europe was the weather . At 7 it was cooler on the colder side of the street which was in shadow but the other side of the road was sunny and hot already . By the time I had set out it would have been 8 in France - so thinking backwards we would have arrived at the tunnel at 5.30 or 5.45. Boarded Le Shuttle for the 6.20 crossing . 35 minutes later we would have been in Kent .Back on English shores again . Clock put back it would be 5.55 and the slow drive up the M2 and around the M25 would commence . As I walked I thought just where we would be . Traffic would be lighter as it was a Sunday . I couldnt help but feel disappointed at not travelling this Spring . The driver in his wisdom had quoted that at least we would not be disappointed at being home as we had never been away. Didnt help I said .

I could not think of anyway interesting to walk which would take my mind off the lack of a holiday . I counted my steps . Around 6000 by the time I got home . I saw the old man that I saw yesterday. He had set out earlier than I had and was on his way home. Hobbling along and leaning on his stick . There were quite a few people about this morning - all heading for the shop to buy their Sunday papers which they would read over a slow breakfast . In between counting I thought about numbers . As you do when you get bored . How come the government have managed to ramp up testing from 100,000 on Friday to 200,000 by today . Has to be porkies I thought . They must have sent out thousands of tests in the post on Saturday to get anywhere near that number . But then whats a couple of 100,000 between friends ? Shielding has been loosened today . After weeks of isolation anyone shielding if they feel confident can go out . The onus put upon the shielder to make the right decision for themselves . One of the chief medical officers has spoken . Rules are there for everyone . In his opinion everyone should abide by them . Another clear dig at the Dominic Cummings story which still is rumbling on.

I did not get as far as I wanted to . My feet were aching and there was a very slow walker in front of me . Not wanting to overtake her and then turn back I made the decision to turn around before I wanted to. The water lilies are out on the Lido . Perhaps tomorrow I will get close enough to take a photograph of them . A sure sign of summer . With aching feet I carried on . Chiropodists are opening and are putting social distancing measures in place . They will use a traffic light scheme . Red patients whose feet are in a bad way and need urgent treatment . Not me. Amber - those that are bad but not quite as bad as the worse patients . Rules me out . Green are the people like me who go regularly just to keep feet in good shape . We have no chance . Like the dentists we have to wait until the important patients are seen .

The Flag Iris are blooming on the pond . The pesky blackbirds have started to pick out the peas and the new grass . The Swallows and Swifts have arrived . Circling low across the park catching insects on the wing . A sure sign that Summer is here .

Flaming June is just around the corner . As I neared home I thought about flaming June . All Junes seemed to be flaming in the 1960's . We were sent home for the summer to revise for O levels . We could sit out in the garden sunbathing whilst we studied for exams. I sat out but most of the time did not revise . Well I did not revise enough. The lure of the sun was too strong. I fell asleep in the garden soaking up the sun. The days were hot and went on and on . Sometimes the weather broke and the mother of all thunderstorms hit us . Torrential rain which flooded the garden . Thunder rumbling overhead and lightening lighting up the sky . Then there was the TV . it never worked in the summer - atmospherics mum and dad used to say . No point putting it on as all we get is interference on the picture . Flaming June - tomorrow is Flaming June .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.514s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 36; qc: 42; dbt: 0.2112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb