Day 3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Shap
July 17th 2011
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello,
Today was a dreary and rainy for quite a bit. We went on a cruise of Lake Windermere in Bowness on Windermere. It was another great experience (I haven't had any badexperiences yet!). After myself and some other Canadians plus one Aussie went to the Beatrix Potter musuem and had some lunch before heading back to the bus. We then had another optional activitiy. It was some sports like activities at a sports adventure place outside of a town called Keswick. I went canoeing. My partner and I were not very successful. It rained as well but the views were great! We then went back to Keswick for a "walk-about" dinner. A "walk-about" dinner is what they use to refer to a dinner that isn't one included in the tour (you have to find your own place to eat and pay yourself). After supper we headed out to our hotel. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere near a place called Shap. The view from our window is lovely! After we took our luggage up to our room and freshened up we headed down to the first floor for some excitement. This excitement was better than the fire alarm yesterday! Tomorrow we are heading into Scotland and the first stop is a place called Greta Greens where young people use to run away to in order to elope without needing the permission of their parents. On the bus ride earlier on today the three couples on the tour had to play a couples game (like that Newly Weds game where the men have to give the answers to questions their partner wrote the answer to on paper). The winners got a mock wedding ceremony at Greta Greens. The winners were already married but are still going to do it. So the excitement this evening was a mock hen party as well as mock bachelor party. It was quite hilarious. If you wish for more details on this I can tell you about it when I get home as I'd like to wind this up now. Next time I blog I will tell you about the bus driver.

Before I go here are my responses and shout outs to people who commented on my last blog.
Melissa-Yes, some of the streets are still cobblestone and not paved. I am taking lots of pictures.
Mum-You need to be patient with blog entries as well as photos. I didn't bring my camera cord-end of story! Please check my email to you.
Tara-I didn't know they called faceclothes flannels-good to know! You will definitely to go and see the Globe yourself. I think if you go between 9AM and 12PM you will be able to get in.
Nissa-My long blogs are appreciated so no complaining!

Advertisement



20th July 2011

Gretna Green
Did you get married yesterday in Gretna Green? Have you brought shame to our entire family? Will I as your sister feel the ramifications of your decision? Oh Zoe... why must you be determined to be the silliest girl in all the world? Did you get to meet Peter Rabbit? I would be so jealous if you did! I am surprised you went to a mock hens night though. Were the two parties seperated or did you have both at the same place? Can't wait to hear more about it.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb