Lake District


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Lake Windermere
August 30th 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

When I got off the train at Kendal, coming from Edinburgh, the station was closed and so I pushed the button on an information box and this guy told me where the nearest hotel is. Went there and the receptionist was very helpful trying to get me to the hostel or a cheaper hotel but nothing was available so I stayed at that place - nice bed and breakfast and had a wonderful full breakfast the next morning.

Went hiking around the Lake District for a day - well only half a day until I was pooped. I was by Lake Windermere which is 10 miles long and one mile wide and has lots of trails around it. I loved this area cuz it's just a bunch of little towns. Walked through two towns and then took a ferry across the lake. Hiked on the trail that goes along the lake. Everything is really bright green and beautiful 😊 I didnt have a map or anything and was trying to get to this castle ... worried that I took a wrong turn but I eventually found it and then it was closed :-/ It started raining (typical!) about 3 pm but it wasnt too bad. I found a ferry that goes back to the other side and it was coming in about 5 min. But I decided I would just hike for another hour to the next town and then get a bus. However, when I continued, it got a little rocky and then I hit private property and had no idea how to go around it. So I said a few bad words to myself and started sprinting back to the place with the ferry and made it just in time! 😊

Got to another small town and finally decided to splurge on some ice cream. I'm telling you, there are ice cream shops about every 10 feet in this area! Got mint chocolate chip and it was alright, but a bit different than at home, not very thick, so I was disappointed to say the least.

But, the area is great and I recommend it to anyone!! Really good to get away from the city.

Advertisement



3rd September 2009

still chuckling
Oh, Monica, I'm still chuckling over your adventures around Lake Windemere! Love reading your blogs. Stay well.Love, G'ma
6th September 2009

I'm sorry someone pooped you...
You didn't told me about that! I'm sorry linda... I guess is embarrasing, but you are brave and I know you found a place where to clean yourself, and you know what they say, that's a lucky charm!!!

Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb