Windermere, The Lake District, England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Lake Windermere
July 2nd 2009
Published: July 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This morning after breakfast we caught a taxi to Waverly Station for our train to Windermere (Lake District). The train didn’t have internet access so I am falling even further behind on my blog updates and emails (at least I can save them to my computer to update later!).. As far as B&Bs go here, internet access can be pretty sporadic. Your best best is to carry your computer to a local coffee shop (and there are MANY to choose from).

We arrived in Oxenholme at 12::11pm and switched trains for the short ride to Windermere. We got to Wndermere at 12:47pm and walked to our B&B. You would not believe how hot it is here. I have to keep reminding myself that I’m in England. To make matters worse, the people here are not used to this heat either, so the B&B we’re at (Adam Place) doesn’t have any fans for the rooms. It is terrible. I am crossing my fingers for a cool day tomorrow. Ha!

Okay, enough whining. After we rang out our clothes and rinsed off, we headed out to explore Windermere. At the end of town, across from the railway station, is a footpath
Adam Place Guest HouseAdam Place Guest HouseAdam Place Guest House

Windermere, Lake District
up to Orrest Head viewpoint, located about a mile up (78.4 feet above sea level). At the top are lovely views of the Lake District Fells, Lake Windemere, Morecambe Bay, and the Pennines.

After walking back into town, we stopped at the Grey Walls Pub for dinner. I had fish and chips (my third and definitely best so far) and a Carling beer. After dinner we decided to do some more walking since all the shops closed at 5pm. We walked down Lake Road to Baddeley Clock and then a bit further to Sheriff’s Walk footpath toward the lake. We took a right at the main road (Rayrigg) and then followed another footpath down to the water. There were quite a few people at the shores, as well as a bunch of sailboats out on the water. It was nice and shady and the water felt so good that I didn’t want to have to get up and keep walking, but alas, we did.

We continued on the path until it opened up to a park, where we crossed over and walked back along Birthwaite Road, passing some grazing sheep along the way. I have never seen as many sheep as I have in England and Scotland. They are everywhere up here in the north. (Not nearly as cute as the Highland coo!)

When we got back into town, we stopped at a gas station (one of the only places open) for ice cream and some water and then headed back to our sauna….I mean, our B&B. It is 9pm right now and I am melting. Here’s hoping for a drop in the weather for our tour of Lake District tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



15th July 2009

Hahahahaha. You are going to be so tired of fish and chips by the end of the trip! The sheep are watching you, beware! Love the shot of your feet in Windermere :D

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb