back to normal


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hope you all enjoyed the fruits of my new camera.As you know have had super weather beaching, enjoyed seeing everyone I wanted to see and visited places last seen in1989 on honeymoon.Eden has proved stimulating and I have done 2 zipwire rides incl carrying down mulled wine for Dave Saunders on the last one.
The only blip--no molehill has been on Sunday when I was returning from the show jumping day at Launceston. On the way back I thought the clutch might be slipping but waited till later to check.Definately a problem and when Dave got home I mentioned it to him and asked if he knew a garage.As a result on mon am we set off to John's brothers garage and began a trail of one garage to the next.No head height in Nigels and next 2 recommendations no free time till next week.By this stage I could see my departure delayed and was working out knock on effects of this.However whilst at the third garage they had phoned a fourth who might look for it. this being the case we dropped it off that evening (Rachel in convoy) and took the dogs for a walk along Long Rock Beach(between Marazion and Penzance.) Keep it in mind next summer sam - dogs permitted on that beach.Weds with uncertain / non beach weather I nevertheless headed down to fisherman's and saw Danny down there.Unfortunately whilst visiting with Ron and Kit, did not realise I had a phonecall from Roger at garage and so I couldn't find out the reason till Thurs.He said to come take the car to Nissan as it was more than clutch he thought so if I went there they could expedite repair with parts etc. Drove the hire car I'd picked up on Mon ( to help expedite holiday) down to Penzance,swopped over into mine,drove gingerly up the A30 to the garage and booked it in then and there.They said they would begin work on thurs taking the gearbox out to see what was wrong.I therefore accepted a lift to Truro Station and took the train to Penzance then bus to Long Rock and drove away towards house.I received a phone call from the garage stating that they found real problem was damaged flywheel which was destroying clutch linings and said that it was 900 pounds in itself and with clutch pieces and labour whole repair would be in the order of 2000 pounds.!! I gulped .,said do it,(parts were available) and that I would get the money somehow.Amex had 3000 credit limit so assumed that it would not be a problem to use it to pay.However once again I found Amex was not accepted and also that I was only allowed to take out a max of 200 pounds a week!! Tried to get Alliance to obtain the money but they have no way of doing so,Amex will only takeover other credit cards and not cough up money out of the account.By this time I was feeling close to tears of frustation as all funds were unavailable for 7-10 days or in Bulgaria.!! Thankfully I asked Brett if he would have 2000 accessible as a loan til i got back to Bulgaria to refund him.Bless him for despite having been woken out of a pre Glastonbury trip sleep ,said he would electronically bank it for me.As good as his word the next day/today the money was in and when I rang the Nissan garage they said it was ready.Total cost 2076 pounds.So Dave is giving me a lift up to collect it tomorrow and as a result of all my help I can continue on as planned.Wonderful.Also good ,if expensive ,to know reason for swift clutch demises. A steep and expensive learning curve ,resulting in a resolution to use Nissan garage Varna for any poss serious, non-routine repairs.If only it had been spotted initially I would have been spared lots of expense + akward timing re kids visit.Only reason it didn't go to them last time was because they were shut for the 6 day public holiday.Ah well it's only money!Hope you had a great (dry) time at Glastonbury Brett and Kathy and once again thanks. Maybe now the return trip might go smoothly.At least I am going to be able to visit David,Helen and Olivia.Also I am returning with 2 windbreaks in the pack and kids will appreciate how essential that is.with all the booze,gingerbeer ,paint,lampshades and other pieces it should give the hungarian customs food for thought!So that's things up to date.Regards to all,Supergran

Advertisement



Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb