Cornwall - Carbis Bay/St Ives


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » St Ives
October 19th 2009
Published: March 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Cornwall - Home 89 secs
View from homeView from homeView from home

Porthkidney Sands
To go home and see my family is always something exciting and a pleasure that I look forward to all year round. I love going back to see my Mum, Dad, Sister and our dog Dolly. This time round we arranged that we would go to my families house in Cornwall for a week to spend some time in the English riviera where there are wonderful beaches and some great seafood.


The house is situated in a place called Carbis Bay that is connecting to the seaside town of St Ives that was made famous back in the Victorian times as a holiday resort. It is a picturesque town with many Fisherman stone cottages and small winding roads. It is a place that I hold dearly in my heart and love to go visit every time I am back in the U.K.


One of my most treasured memories of this area is walking our families dog Dolly on the local beach called Porthkidney Sands. It is a huge stretch of beach that carries on for four miles and very rarely has more than twenty people on it during the off season. With the big cliffs making it hard to get down to it is a walk very much worth if you want a big beach to yourself.


So to walk my dog is first then the next is to have some of my Mum's food which is always amazing no matter what it is. She normally likes to make me a farm house pie and she didn't let me down this time, I was lucky enough to have a steak pie with mash and onion gravy, it was amazing and much to my and my Dad's taste.


So walk, food then the next thing has to be go down the pub for a couple of pints with my Dad. We usually travel into St Ives for a beer and this visit was no different, we went and sunk a few at the Sloop pub in St Ives harbor, it was a very old fisherman's pub with low ceilings and stone floors it is what is known as a 'Classic Boozer'.


That is a usual first day when I am back in Cornwall and that day did not disappoint at all. I woke up the next morning wanting to go take some good photo's before the light went and then go and get my Surf board and hit the waves for a couple of hours of semi decent surf.


There is nothing better when everything that reminds you of home is still there. It offers you a comfort that you sometimes think you don't really require but the minute you are back it all floods back to you how important it truly is.










Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dolly my dogDolly my dog
Dolly my dog

She is a BoerBoel South African breed. A mix of Rhodesian Ridgeback and Bull Mastiff.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb