Jogle 2nd May 2011 Hayle to Lands End :D


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » Hayle
May 2nd 2011
Published: May 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I had a late start , 9.00 ish , my brother and his girlfriend were on their way to capture my arrival in Lands End .I was keen to get off so a quick breakfast at McDonalds , and a coffee , and i was ready .Gary would pick up my bro from Penzance station .I was running on adrenaline , for the 1st time in days I had no pain just an overwhelming desire to complete my Jogle .
Talced up I haeded out on the A30 towards Penzance and the weather was great ..dry , windy (still with me) I had jettisoned the rear panniers into the van to enjoy a lightweight ride , what a difference .
I was in Penzance before 10, I paused to take a pic on the hill out of Penzance , I was excited to see that road signs to Lands End had now turned to Brown tourist signs...a sure sign (no pun intended) that I was getting near ...From Penzance the road climbs and climmbs again , there is even a hill called Misery Hill , I didnt care ..i done all the big hills now these were just taken in my stride I felt fit , I was then overtaken by the van carrying my brother , they stopped to take some "action" pics ...i paused to say Hi and that i would see them in about 4 miles at the signpost :D.It was here that I overtook Mel and Geoff ,from Manchester , I was really pleased that were going to finish as Geoff had suffered for days with an English version of Delhi Belly .....i shouted encouragement and whizzed on .
Sennen Village Church -the first and last pub and on to Lands End ..I crossed the line at 10.40 am , and I am loathed to admit it but i shed a tear...it was very emotional..(Lands End is a bit of a pit but with a great view!)I headed for the signpost to take a pic ..the man hastily put up his rope barrier £10.00 for a picture, so I stood outside the roped area and took apicture ..it does seem a bit indignant that you have to pay for a picture when youv'e cycled almost 1000 miles ....perhaps the Bristol anti capitalists should come here to riot!.
Lands End ..I had covered 952 miles , with no punctures, in 10 days , unsupported with panniers .
I have met the good the bad and the ugly , I am now convinced that we live in a wonderful country , with mostly very nice people .
This journey was a long time ambition of mine and it has not dissapointed me ...if your thinking about it ....plan, do a bit of training , get some talcum powder and do it ...
Massive respect to all I encountered riding this journey and respect to you all about to embark :DDD


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb