My Birthday! Friday the 13th


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » Gweek
June 15th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

near Church Covenear Church Covenear Church Cove

The water is really that blue! It looks almost tropical.
Today was my 28th birthday! (And Finn's 5th - happy b-day Finn!) Doug surprised me with a gorgeous diamond necklace and I had a lot of cards sent to Gweek as well which was very nice. In the morning we had a beautiful walk up to Dollar Cove and Church Cove, where we had a look in a very old church in the sand, where the sailors used to pray before going out to sea. They still have services there on Sundays, and it looked like someone had recently had a wedding judging by the decor. The was a little graveyard outside that had this spooky angel headstone with snails in it's eyeballs! And then my Dad knelt in some stinging nettles by accident so we got to try out the old remedy of spitting on a doc leaf and rubbing it on the sting, which actually seemed to work, lol. Ew! I also got to meet a working border collie from a nearby farm.

For my birthday dinner I chose to go to Roskilly's. It is a working dairy farm that also has a restaurant and ice cream and fudge shop. Yum! I ordered pizza but it was kind
Church CoveChurch CoveChurch Cove

The Church in the sand.
of weird - it came with tomatos on it and the sauce was like plain tomato paste, not like our pizza sauce with spices and stuff. Even so, we had fun playing with the two cats that lived there. They came and sat with us at the table while we ate dinner, it was awesome! They were so sweet and cuddly. 😊 We got ice cream cones for dessert and cornish fudge to take home.

After dinner we had a peaceful evening walk down by the water in Coverack. My Mom was lucky enough to be pooped on by a seagull! ha ha The gulls here are much bigger and chubbier than ours, and they even have an "accent" too, they sound much different than those at home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My little angel!My little angel!
My little angel!

Doug "praying". ha ha
freaky angel tombstonefreaky angel tombstone
freaky angel tombstone

She had snails in her eyeballs!
a real English sheepdoga real English sheepdog
a real English sheepdog

A working border collie I met near Church Cove.
cat at the restaurantcat at the restaurant
cat at the restaurant

One of the kitties that ate with us at Roskilly's.
a pink house with a thatched roofa pink house with a thatched roof
a pink house with a thatched roof

I figured you might get a kick out of this pink house Isabel, it even has a grass (thatched) roof. This was in Coverack.
CoverackCoverack
Coverack

the harbour in Coverack
Uh oh!  Bird bomb!Uh oh!  Bird bomb!
Uh oh! Bird bomb!

Mom got pooped on by a seagull, lol.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb