Pre-Trip Anxieties


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » Fowey
January 29th 2012
Published: January 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So I'm off to Heathrow tommorow. I still feel fairly new to travelling but it's not my first time away by myself, last year I went around a bit - snippits of Europe and Morroco, Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. I tried as much as I could to get off the tourist track, Ratanakiri in NE Cambodia felt a bit out there and driving around with the Austr-aliens in the Atlas Mountains, we managed to have at least a day when we felt like we had left the tour buses behind. This time though I'm going for a bit longer, but we'll see what happens.

Packing seems a bit easier this time and my bag is lighter than before, but instead of telling me - "You're getting more experienced" these two things seek to make me anxious that I'll have forgotton something, or I've rushed the whole planning stage of this trip. Bangkok is hardly a short walk back to Cornwall, but then again you can get everything you'd ever need there. And then some! I just need to chill out.

I'm hardly looking forward to the 15 hour trip on the plane, nor the 5 hour train trip to London, both of which I booked last minute and paid quite a lot more than I should have. £450. Yeah whatever, I'm a fool, but it was that or over £500 at last minute. Well actually there was £400 with a Russian airline, Aeroflot, but I think I'll have a more comfortable trip with the Omani's. Russian is not synonymous with smiles for me. So now I come across as a guy who over pays for everything and is a rascist, great! I'm quite tired - that's my excuse.

Hopefully I'll write something more when I get a chance.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb