The Travels continue so the blog continues...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Chester
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I’ve done a Madonna and got myself a Brazilian boyfriend. Mine is much hotter than hers. And has a more sensible name. Although I’m not really sure how to pronounce it. He’s a graphic designer, and a model. Oh and the lead singer in a band. He’s way out of my league, but he hasn’t noticed yet. Actually he hasn’t met me yet! He lives in the jungle in Brazil. Well he lives in Manaus which is in the jungle. So I’m off to meet him, in Venezuela! Fingers crossed he is the 25 year old he claims to be and not a 60 year old with saggy man boobs. Rayna thinks he’s going to skin me alive when I meet him. I’m pretty sure he won’t. I asked him if that was his plan.

Me: ‘Rayna thinks you’re going to skin me alive, are you?’
Italo: ‘what does skin me alive mean?’
Me: ‘It means that you take someone’s skin off with a knife, whilst they are still alive’
Italo: ‘Oh’. Pause. ‘hahahahaha Rayna is crazy huh’
Me: ‘I hope so!’

Mum thinks he might be an axe murderer. I checked that one out as well.

Me: ‘Mum wants to know if you’re an axe murderer’
Italo: ‘hahahahahaha’
Me: ‘well, are you?’
Italo: ‘No’
Me to mum: ‘Mum, he says he’s not an axe murderer’
Mum: ‘Well he would say that wouldn’t he’

I’m about 60% sure that he is who he says he is, and that he isn't going to chop my head off or turn me into a handbag, so the odds are on my side!

So I’m off tomorrow! I’m flying into New York and then down to Trinidad. I’ll arrive at JFK at about 8pm tomo night and then I’ll leave at about 6am on Sunday, so I’ve got a night on the airport floor. Trinidad is just off the coast of Venezuela and word on the street has it that there is a ferry that makes the crossing once a week. So the plan is to take the ferry next Wednesday and then jump a 6 hour bus to Puerto La Cruz which is where I’ll meet Italo. He’s got a month off work and we’re planning on travelling around Venezuela and Columbia.

After that I’m heading overland to Mexico City where I have a flight booked back to New York on Christmas Eve. I’ve decided that my motto this time around will be ‘do more, see less’ so I’m not sure how much of central America I’ll see. If I bussed it the whole way I would go through Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, Guatemala, Belize, and southern Mexico. I might end up getting a couple of flights and skipping some of it, I’m not sure yet. I am planning on spending a couple of weeks on a yoga retreat, learning to surf and getting my diving PADI. Rayna is working in Miami in December so will be flying down to Guatemala on the 4th and will spending the last month with me. Laura and katy are joining us in New York for New Year's Eve! Other than that I’ll be going where the wind takes me, it should be a good trip 😊

I doubt my blogs will be quite as in depth as the last ones (I’m feeling a bit lazy), but I will endeavour to keep you up to date on my adventures!

Advertisement



4th September 2009

Ohhh, i am very happy you're back on the road ... not sure about the guy though, can we have a picture? anyway, worst case you end up marrying him in 4 weeks time and stay all your life in Latin America ... that would be really bad, wouldn't it? take care and be safe ...
5th September 2009

Wow!! I was wondering when we'd hear about your travels! Great post, keep it up! Alex xxx
6th September 2009

safe trip!
Laura! good to know how well you are doing!! Safe trip and update me how you are doing in Brazil! I really wanna see your hot BF:)) send me a photo! Dont forget to come to japan next year and will buy you Alcohol free Beer:P Love Marina
10th September 2009

Hi Laura Wow, you're back out there on the road again already, we're so jealous!! ;-) You must have a foolproof way of making a few bucks, or you just might be very clever and worth a fortune. Me, I'll be slogging it out for some time before I can think about travelling again. Who is this guy, how did you meet him? Anyway, have a great time and have fun! PS Looked out for you on the telly but never saw it. :-( Love Emma

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb