The Best (And Worst) Of Latin America


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Oeste » La Habana
May 30th 2016
Published: July 9th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Journey Through Latin America 2015-2016


CubaCubaCuba

My favourite country in Latin America.
8 months, 18 countries, 74 cities (and those are just the ones I stayed overnight in) and approximately 18,729km travelled and my journey through Latin America is complete. It is so far the longest trip I have yet undertaken and it's hard to believe that this is just partof a journey that is not even halfway through!

Just like I did following my European sojourn in 2007 and my time living and travelling in London, I think it is appropriate that after a trip of such length, with so many different and unique experiences, that I should revisit and relive some of the highlights (lowlights) of the journey.

Also as before, this will be done in a list form - lists of the best, the worst and my favourites. So without further ado;

Top 5 Favourite Cities/Towns
5. Santiago, Chile - this place gets short shrift from a lot of visitors but I don't understand why. I found it to be very interesting, lively and a real insight into the country's psyche.
4. Panama City, Panama - it even surprised me. It's very well developed, it has a charming old town and there is loads of history here. It's eminently liveable.
3. Cartagena, Colombia - it's on the list mainly for its
Iguazu Falls, Argentina/BrazilIguazu Falls, Argentina/BrazilIguazu Falls, Argentina/Brazil

The best sight I saw in Latin America.
aesthetics - the most beautiful city in South America. The architecture, the colour and the Caribbean energy makes it a place like no other - apart perhaps, from number one on this list...
2. Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica - I don't think I have ever been in a place where I have felt so comfortable. I wanted to stay here forever. Both tourists and locals alike are all friendly and relaxed, there are loads of decent beaches nearby and the weather is amazing - one of few places that I never wanted to leave.
1. Havana, Cuba - there was no doubt about this one. Nothing comes close to the architecture, colour and atmosphere of Havana. There was no other place where my jaw dropped open so many times, no other place that was so distinctive. It was like a time warp back to the 50s. There was also no other place where I have taken more photos - the final count was 525 in five days, which I think tells you everything you need to know.

Top 5 Sights
5. Lake Titicaca, Bolivia - breathtaking views and scenery awaits on the world's highest lake.
4. Volcan Fuego, Guatemala - I got within 200m of the top
Varadero Beach, CubaVaradero Beach, CubaVaradero Beach, Cuba

The best beach I saw in Latin America (on this trip anyway).
of an erupting volcano. That is all.
3. Machu Picchu, Peru - it's a big gun in terms of sights. While not actually the most riveting sight close-up, it is all about the view and its setting high in the mountains - as well as the journey to get there that makes Machu Picchu so legendary.
2. Uyuni Salt Flats & Eduardo Avaroa National Reserve of Andean Fauna, Bolivia - although the salt flats are quite rightly revered, the national reserve just south of it was probably even more impressive. I mean, a lake with red water?! Flamingoes galore?! The landscapes there were just surreal.
1. Iguazu Falls, Argentina/Brazil - the only sight to have really blown me away and left me lost for words. Just, wow. The size, the power, the volume of water...this is nature at its very best.

Top 5 Beaches
I love the beach and I have fairly specific preferences which put together, resembles a deserted tropical island; the whiter and softer the sand, the better; the clearer the water, the better; the water should be warm - warm enough for you to be able to almost spend all day in it, but cool enough to actually cool you down; it is good to have some decent waves, but not
Havana, CubaHavana, CubaHavana, Cuba

My favourite city in Latin America (on this trip anyway).
for it to be so rough that swimming becomes a survival exercise; the beach can't have too many people on it - the less the better, which is why overdeveloped beaches such as the ones in Quintana Roo and Honduras's West Bay are not in the list; there should be a decent amount of shade near the beach; there should be ample space on the beach; and preferably, there should be coconut trees to complete the scene!
5. Playa Cocles, Costa Rica
4. Playa Hermosa, Nicaragua
3. La Piscina, Colombia
2. Cayo Zapatilla, Panama
1. Varadero, Cuba

Top 5 Favourite Countries
5. Guatemala - there is a lot to see and do in Guatemala; beautiful Antigua and the opportunity to climb volcanoes; you can relax and/or party in tranquil Lake Atitlan; pristine Semuc Champey, cute, colourful Flores and the amazing archaeological treasure that is Tikal. Great for a two week adventure vacation.
4. El Salvador - the lack of tourism here made me feel like I was getting a true insight into the place. The people were friendly, the vibe was positively chilled, the nature was beautiful and the country is cheap!
3. Colombia - I spent six weeks here. There is such a variety of things to see and do, from vibrant cities, to coffee-plantation-covered mountains (including really tall trees), to Caribbean beaches. It is also a fun place that has its fair share of parties and backpackers, yet never feels overrun by tourism. Plus it's cheap and they have the friendliest
Quito, EcuadorQuito, EcuadorQuito, Ecuador

Where Community Hostel is located. It was the best hostel I stayed at in Latin America.
people in South America.
2. Brazil - it might have something to do with being the only non-Spanish-speaking in South America but Brazil is just so different to every other country on the continent. There is a lot to see, great parties, friendly people but most of all, just an absolutely, effortlessly chilled vibe. And the best beaches in South America.
1. Cuba - it is the most frustrating country I have ever travelled and Cuba and I certainly had our moments. It is a time warp into the 50s in more ways than one. But that is what makes it what it is - the most unique and interesting place I have ever been. The vibrancy, colour, atmosphere and energy of Havana; the amazing red earth and mogotes of Vinales and the crystal clear water of the Bahia de Cochinos; the wonderful beaches; the gripping recent history; the thrumming music; the unique, often difficult but community-based way of life; and of course, those classic cars!

Top 5 Hostels
5. Hola Ola Hostel, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua - not the cleanest I have stayed at but the sense of community here is second to none. The people here were my family for a week, with plenty of beach time and drinking games!
4. El Machico Hostel, Panama City, Panama - super clean, amazing pool, great location and awesome staff.
3. Arenal Hostel Resort, La Fortuna, Costa Rica -
Tony The CubanTony The CubanTony The Cuban

Cubans were the friendliest people I met in Latin America.
there is a swim-up bar. This is an actual resort.
2. Tetris Container Hostel, Foz do Iguazu, Brazil - actually made of old shipping containers. Great cheap bar, social area and a swimming pool to boot.
1. Community Hostel, Quito, Ecuador - there are professional chefs who prepare your breakfast, it is super clean, the beds are comfy, the hostel activities are great and it's so easy to meet people.

Worst 5 Hostels
5. Managua Hostel Ida, Managua, Nicaragua - there were rarely staff there and when they were there, they didn't seem too interested in serving you. Hardly any guests didn't help the non-existent atmosphere.
4. Casabuho del Paraiso Tropical, Taganga, Colombia - you were basically sleeping outside here. Staff were unhelpful/absent.
3. Che Salguero, Cordoba, Argentina - cold, dirty, damp and cramp.
2. Chill Inn Hostel, Tulum, Mexico - everything was so...small. Cramped. Hot. It was like staying in a chicken battery farm.
1. Planet Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay - there was no-one staying there and everything in the place seemed to be falling apart. Perhaps that was why.

Top 5 Friendliest People
5. Chile
4. Uruguay
3. Costa Rica - everyone greets you with a "pura vida" here.
2. Colombia - Medellin is the friendliest
Dutchies - Sybe & FleurDutchies - Sybe & FleurDutchies - Sybe & Fleur

My good friends. My good Dutch friends. They weren't the only Dutch friends I made though - the Dutch were the nationality that I met the most in Latin America, particularly South America. A good effort considering the population of the Netherlands!
city in South America.
1. Cuba - staying with guest families in casa particulares really gets you closer to the people of Cuba, but everyone wants to talk to you - just for a chat. Something that is rare these days.

Top 5 Songs Most Heard
As you might expect, I heard a lot of effin' reggaeton in Latin America which is why it dominates this list.
5.
">Bailando - Enrique Iglesias
4.
">Gyal You A Party Animal - Charly Black
3. ">El Taxi - Osmani Garcia feat. Pitbull
2. ">Sorry - Justin Bieber
1. ">Ginza - J. Balvin

Top 5 Most Gutting Moments
5. Eating something dodgy and getting sick in Huanchaco, Peru, and realising I would not be able to drink on New Year's Eve
4. Eating something dodgy and getting sick in Baranquilla, Colombia, and realising that I would be missing most of the world's second biggest Carnaval
3. Discovering I'd left my hard-to-procure camera battery charger behind in Costa Rica and that I wouldn't be able to use my DSLR until I somehow found a new one
2. Realising that my wallet had been pickpocketed on a chicken bus in Guatemala
1. Realising that while running across the beach in Mancora, Peru, that my new(ish) iPhone 6 had fallen out of my pocket and had been enveloped by the Pacific Ocean, never to be seen again and knowing that it would cost me a shitload of money to replace

Top 5 Nationalities Most Met
5. French
4. Swedish
3. English
2. German
1. Dutch - I reckon I have a place to stay in every single city in Holland now...

Best Beers
Tona from Nicaragua. I sank so many of those. Club Colombia (the red one) from Colombia (obvs) isn't a bad drop either.

Most Expensive Places
Panama was pretty expensive, especially after Colombia. But Costa Rica was the worst. The worst.

So that is it! A wrap on eight months in Latin America.
Cuba and Colombia apart, I wasn't super-excited about my trip to Latin America beforehand but every new
Hanging Bridges In Monteverde, Costa RicaHanging Bridges In Monteverde, Costa RicaHanging Bridges In Monteverde, Costa Rica

It cost US$20 to visit these 13 hanging bridges. One reason why Costa Rica was the most expensive country I visited.
place gives you a new perspective.
I had a great time - a fun time - and I met some awesome people along the way. To all of you who I travelled with, drank with, partied with and shared experiences with; the trip would not have been the same without you and I know that I have made some friends for life. As they say, you may travel alone, but you're never ever really alone.

I do feel I have had my fill of Latin America though - so I'm happy and excited to be heading back to my favourite continent; Europe. The next blog entry will be coming to you from there - the journey continues...

Hasta luego!
Derek

Advertisement



9th July 2016

It has been great following your experiences in SOuth and Central America...
and I look forward to reading about your travels around Europe.
10th July 2016
Hanging Bridges In Monteverde, Costa Rica

Great wrap up!
Excellent lists--I've nabbed a few of the places and hostels for my onward journey! Amazing that Cuba ended up rating so high after your expensive, dodgy experiences there. I'm also a budget traveler, and had almost written it off, but since you loved it so, it may just go for it. Fab adventures, and best wishes, buen viaje, in Europe!

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb