Wow. So this is England.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
July 11th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Room with a viewRoom with a viewRoom with a view

This is what I see when I look out my window. Sweeeet.
So, I made it to England. The plane ride was dileriously long, boring and full of turbulance. I was pretty depressed and jetlagged yesterday, but today has been much better. I guess 48 hours without sleep effects me badly. We got to Cambridge yesterday around 11:00am (5am Topeka Time) and classes started today. On the bus ride from London to Cambridge, it was all little country cottages and farms. Cambridge is beautiful. Stone buildings, brick streets, vines... And the Cambridge University Campus is nothing less than breath taking. It looks like a medeval castle. My room is small but cozy. My classes have been incredible so far. Thank god I've been raised around dry wit, because my first period tutor is hilarious. As I said when I e-mailed Mom and Tim earlier, a quote I enjoyed was : "The beer here isn't like that fermented nun's piss you have in the United States.". And his PhD was in Quantum Mechanics.

I miss everyone in the States already. Love you guys!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

My room: View 1My room: View 1
My room: View 1

Cozy, ain't it?
My room: View 2My room: View 2
My room: View 2

Laptop, toiletries, window, oh my!
My room: View 3My room: View 3
My room: View 3

The bedside table. Yes, that's a polaroid of Tim on my lamp.
Campus 1Campus 1
Campus 1

To the left is the Chapel, and the stairs to the right lead to the dining hall. We eat at Harry Potter-esqe tables. Yay!
Campus 2Campus 2
Campus 2

A full-frontal view of the Chapel. Gorgeous.
Campus 3Campus 3
Campus 3

Another wing of rooms for students. Look at those vines!
Building with a viewBuilding with a view
Building with a view

This is the view from the door of my wing of rooms. I took this when I got up randomly at 4:45am this morning.
Lunch!Lunch!
Lunch!

This is what I had for luch today. Simply dreadful! :)
Campus 4Campus 4
Campus 4

The pub is in this building, entrance to the right. I haven't been there yet. My stomach gets still mineral water and nothing else to drink at the moment. Darn jet lag.
Just a window...Just a window...
Just a window...

This is a window from the other wing. I can't get over the all of the stone and vines.


11th July 2006

Wow Indeed
Mauma shared your blog URL with me--hope that's OK with you. The pics are fantastic. Do you feel all kinds of connections to, like, Druids and stuff being surrounded by such oooooolllllllldddddddd stuff? I eagerly await your next entry. PS: Believe the tutor about the beer. It's much smoother, richer, more full-bodied, and higher alcohol content. Two of them could kick my butt when I first got to Europe.
17th July 2006

Travel Blog
Sara: What a wonderful place to be, especially now ... we have ungodly temperatures ~ 100's +. Thanks for sharing your travel blog with us. I'm looking forward to periodic updates! Have fun and will see you upon your return ... Meow!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb