More organisation..... but now more of the waiting game!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Buckinghamshire » Aylesbury
June 29th 2011
Published: June 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok so my travel organisation skills are coming together slowly.... tonight was very constructive well all in all a constructive week!

I have now devised some sort of packing list which I will share shortly.

So this week has included going to the dentist - not once but twice, final visit tomorrow so bearing in mind I am petrified of dentists this is quite an achievement for me and to go on my own as well. Yes at 28 I know this is something that should be fine but I think I am also more scared that if something went wrong while I was away it would probably be a hell of a lot worse in a foreign country and more expensive too! So final visit tomorrow and then I can breath again! 😊

I have Friday off work to go to Thorpe Park which I'm actually really looking forward to. For those of you from the UK I am going to go on Stealth and now actually looking at the pictures I'm feeling sick http://www.thorpepark.com/rides/stealth.aspx not looking forward to that so just going to close my eyes and just hope I don't throw up on the person behind me ha ha!

Today also included sorting out my finances which included downgrading my supposed reward account from Halifax to which I had no benefit from and paying for the benefit too and even have no overdraft now so that's a very good thing so no charges going to be thrown at me when I am away. The call which should have taken 10 minutes, spoke to a lovely guy from Belfast who before ending the call decided to ask where I was going....what a can of worms that opened up! When people ask where I am going....well I just can't stop talking about it then and also have a bit of a thing for Irish accents so was quite happy to chat! 😉

Also used my time constructively this morning at work photocopying bank cards and all documentation so the folks have copies of everything just in case. Then also applied for one of the bank cards which you don't have to pay to withdraw money which for me really stung me last time I went away as I got charged £1.50 for every cash withdrawl! Was not impressed. So this got recommended to me by one of my travel companions www.caxtonfxcard.com will do a proper review of it once I finish this blog entry. I've seen that a lot of travel agents like STA are doing them now but at a cost. This one you just have to have an opening balance to start the account so just waiting for the confirmation that it's all sorted!

Also applied for my New Zealand working visa today which I have been anticipating waiting to do when I get to Thailand. Basically it makes it a lot more complicated to apply from Thailand as it is a high risk TB area which means more health checks need to be carried out so you can't apply to work until you get there which then means you can only go in as a tourist so then have to have a flight out and my ticket is one way so it just makes sense to apply for the visa here. So the application has been done so now it's just a waiting game and hope that they let me in the country! 😊

Ok so what else, um also bought my rucksack for my handluggage. Have decided to keep the day sack that came with the rucksack attached to it as I'm going to put all my horse riding stuff in there to keep it away from my normal clothes. So now have a nice little rucksack from an internet surf shop - could have got seriously carried away on there but stopped at the bag! It also has a separate compartment for the laptop so that's another thing sorted.

So now the packing list, it looks a little something like this:

Gadgets

•Laptop & Charger (& external hard drive for music and photos)
•Speakers & Power Cable
•iPod & Earphones
•Travel hairdryer & straighteners (mini travel ones - my one luxury!)
•Travel adapters
•Camera/Charger/memory card/spare battery
•Sunglasses
•Phone & charger
•Pen knife (pack in suitcase – not about getting bag checked with that!)
•Torch – LED (didn't take one last time
•Purse
•Plastic bags
Clothes

•Flip flops (currently have 3 pairs!)
•Horse riding boots (short)
•Jodhpurs
•Chaps (horse riding)
•Leggings
•6 x tops (3 strappy 1 tshirt & 2 other)
•1 x jeans
•2 x shorts
•3 x bikini
•2 x dresses (1 strapless 1 new top thing)
•1 x Hoody
•1 x Cardigan (white)
•1 x pyjamas
•3 x bras (wear 1 for journey obviously and 1 strapless)
•4 x socks (2 trainer 2 normal)
•6 x knickers
•Raincoat
•Fisherman pants/wrap around trousers
Wash bag Stuff

•Insect Repellent
•Suncream
•Shampoo
•Conditioner
•Painkillers
•Hair grips
•Hair elastics
•Baby wipes
•Cotton buds
•Nail clippers/nail file
•Savlon
•Tea tree oil (spots & bites)
•Face moisturiser
•Deodorant
•Lip balm
•Electric toothbrush/normal toothbrush?
•Comb/hair brush/round brush
•Travel mirror
•Shower gel
•Vitamins/pill
•Plasters
•Hand sanitizer
•Tweezers
•Razor/replacement blades
•Antihistamine tablets for allergies
So if anybody knows of anything that I have missed then please do just shout! 😊

Ok think that is all for now....in less than an hour it will be 17 days to go and 3 and a half days to go at work! 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb