Royal Ascot Races


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Buckinghamshire » Ascot
June 23rd 2007
Published: June 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So off to the races....

I wanted a My Fair Lady moment. I even had a black and white dress picked out but at the last minute I changed my mind and decided to go with the most colourful dress I could find!

It started off alright, the bus took us right to Ascot, where we were served with Champagne and Cheese, lovely...

Then the heavens openned and the rain came tumbling down! We had to take shelter in the bus whilst we waited for it to subside.

Into the racecourse we went, staight away our beautifully manicured feet were covered in mud! If we had bothered with fake tan, it didn't actually matter because as we walked the mud flicked up onto the backs of our legs making us a wonderful sight. We did manage to see through the crowd a tiny glimpse of the Queen as she did her daily drive by.

No money was won unfortunately, but a lot of fun was had. Even a few cheers of "Come on Dover, move yer bloomin' arse" were heard (it may have been me!).

So not quite the My Fair Lady experience I
Champagne & Cheese timeChampagne & Cheese timeChampagne & Cheese time

Not exactly the classiest of places, but good people watching location!
was expecting, but I had a great day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Refuge from the storm!Refuge from the storm!
Refuge from the storm!

At least it was warm and dry.
Muddy Feet!Muddy Feet!
Muddy Feet!

Some of you may recognise which one my foot - guess the shoe!
Ascot Racecourse PublicAscot Racecourse Public
Ascot Racecourse Public

See the skyline?
Pimms anyone?Pimms anyone?
Pimms anyone?

Katrina and I


27th June 2007

A day at the races
Good title for a movie - lets get the Marx Brothers to do it! Yes I know which foot is yours - top of photo! See a mother will recognise her child anywhere! Well it looks like you had fun, bad luck about the weather, but who cares when you are having fun. At least it wasn't as cold as when we picked you up after the races in Melbourne. I remember a shivering little lady who was happy to put on the old jacket I had with me! Love Mum
27th June 2007

I saw you on the computer
Dear Auntie Caca - You look very pretty. I miss you. I had a dream last night that you, Victor and me were living in Queensland. I told Nana about it this morning in her bed. I MISS YOU LOTS. Love Max xxxxx
27th June 2007

An amazing time
Thank you for sharing your trip with us so vividly. I almost felt like we were there. Well I can dream can't I? I have just caught up with all your blogs and it looks like you are having ana amazing time. Love the back seat bandits pic. Love Peter and Betty
27th June 2007

It looks terrific kid! I do recognize the shoes --I also recognize the feet! Keep having these terrific experiences- I wish I had done them like you Love Dad
27th June 2007

Looks like a blast
Hi Erica! thanks for sending me your blog! I've read all your previous entries, and I've got to say, it looks kike you're having an absolute blast! Keep it up! Love and miss ya heaps baby! Keep in touch. Love ya cuz, Em.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb