The arduous task of packing. (One week to go!)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bristol County » Bristol
June 29th 2014
Published: June 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The prospect of packing has been a greatly anticipated one in the run up and preparation for my long awaited trip. Yet here I am, a week away from departure, the need to crack on ever bearing down, and it has turned out to ultimately be a total ball ache.

I have spent months writing lists, even lists of future lists to be written. (A habit my family ceaselessly mocks me for.) Lists and post-it notes galore, I am therefore seemingly the expert traveller with my packing organisation and you would think I had this in the bag. (Ha!). Wrong. As I become ever more determined to defy my womanly instincts to pack everything 'just in case', and take as little as humanly possible, I have noticed a pattern. You might think it goes like this: less room = less stuff = less to think about. Wrong. It actually goes like this: less room = less stuff = having to over think the absolute necessity of every single item that takes up precious space in my questionably small rucksack. Unfortunately no amount of colour coordinated highlighting within my lists can be of service here, much to my dismay!

I think the main reason for my procrastination lies with my need to have the satisfaction of getting it all sorted and packing everything, all ready to go, in one swift hit. Sadly I do not have the capacity to pack what I can now and do the rest as and when, as it would only result in the tedious repacking of everything every time I added something new. I just can't help it!

I am still strategically putting my 'good' knickers through the wash two at a time, so really I am days away from the ideal packing situation. I had better make another list in the meantime.....it makes me feel somewhat productive. 😊

Advertisement



30th June 2014

Less is more or is it!
Good luck with the packing, I never quite master the less is more concept and would drive my partner nuts with stuffing my 'over spill' into his rucksack - worked every time!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb