A surprise package is Bristol.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bristol County » Bristol
April 2nd 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Panorama - The Clifton Suspension Bridge in Bristol

Day 15-17 On another train this morning (did I mention how easy it is to get around England?). This time to Bristol...a brief trip but a much bigger place than Bath. Things weren't too encouraging when I was looking out the window to see rather seedier looking houses and run down buildings. I really didn't know what to expect here. At the train station, I look for the information counter, collect a map and find out about transport to my hostel. I find the bus, pay the fare to a surly driver who obviously doesn't like being the driver. A mother and adult daughter hopped on after me and asked the driver questions about what stop they needed for there destination. The driver grunted and gave short answers. After some more discussion the woman asked him, quite loudly, "Are you not happy to be alive?" and proceeded to tell him to either shit or get off the pot. It was hilarious. Everyone smiling or giggling.

Hostel found, luggage stored until check in time and I'm off to explore. One thing that I found out from the ladies of Horsham last night was that there was Romeo and Juliet (with a difference) playing in Bristol. So I searched the net, found the theatre it was playing in and set off to see if I could get a ticket for Wednesday night (tonight's) performance. No problem. So now that this evening was sorted I went for a walk to find St Nicholas' Indoor Markets. Nicknamed 'Knick Knackery' by the lady at the hostel it's open every day. But each Wednesday has extra stalls in the streets around the old building and church. Having to carry a backpack is a great deterrent in buying things that are totally unnecessary which is what I was in danger of doing at this market. It had some great stuff.

I found a neat book and map store too and found the literal 'step by step' guide to Hadrian's Wall, something I'm thinking of doing. I spend the remainder of daylight walking around town and getting a better feel of the place than I did on the train in. There is a nice feel about Bristol. The area around the floating harbour is vibrant. The 'look' of old and new mixed together works in keeping the character of the city. I went to see the play at the Old Vic Theatre, said to be the oldest operating theatre in UK. The show was called Juliet and her Romeo. This was a play with a difference....Romeo and Juliet were 80 years old in a nursing home and the younger generation were the ones trying to keep them apart. Not bad, it touched on some modern issues but kept the same Shakespearean style throughout.

I am to meet up with the sister of Laura who is a good teacher friend I met in Tai'an China last year. Lisa was going to call me at 10am to arrange meeting. I should have known if she was anything like Laura, she would be punctual. And she was. We decide to have coffee at the Watershed, just across from the hostel. We enjoy one coffee and chat (Lisa had things to do on her day off ); then another coffee and more chat (Lisa now starting to put off things to do on her day off); then lunch and more chat (Lisa now setting new priorities of her things to do on her day off); then we take a walking tour
Water proof jeans for when it pees on you.Water proof jeans for when it pees on you.Water proof jeans for when it pees on you.

That's the marketing slogan for these jeans
around town (Lisa now reducing the list of priorities of things to do on her day off). We walk up to the Clifton Bridge and the hill to view it and all of Bristol. A very windy day. We wander back through Clifton Village and down Park Street where we finally say our goodbyes. It 4pm. (not much left in her day off). She is great fun and our conversation never stopped. The same goes with Laura in China.

Soon after I left Lisa, the rain came down so I ducked in to a coffee shop and watched the rain/sleet fall onto the pavement. I might mention here that I haven't met a cappuccino I didn't like in UK yet. They are slowly understanding what a flat white is but the best part is that they use good coffee and make it strong enough to taste the coffee. I'm in heaven!

Off to Cardiff tomorrow.





Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

inside the old Vicinside the old Vic
inside the old Vic

I sat in the nosebleed section


Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 27; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb