What gear to take??


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Slough
May 4th 2011
Published: May 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

What cameras and associated bits to take??


The next thing....was what camera gear to take...?

After the last trip, my first thought was no backpack for the camera - this is something I have been thinking for some time anyway, as backpacks make the changing of lenses and filters so much more time consuming. The question was, what to replace the lowepro backpack with?
Eventually I settled on a Crumpler 7 million dollar home. One problem - it's only available in the US....DOH!
A colleague was over there, so I bought it blind, hoping it would be right, and as it turned out....yes...it's bloody brilliant! I can fit everything I could in the old backpack, plus some, and it's quicker and easier to use. So, I can easily now take:

Canon 5D Mk II body
Canon 50D body

Canon 16-35mm f2.4
Sigma 50mm f1.4
Canon 24-105mm f4
Canon 100mm f2.4
Canon 100-400mm f4.5-5.6

Canon 1.4x Extender
Canon 580EX
27GB of CF cards

All in one bag!!! plus various accessories....granted it's tight, but I'll have at least one of the bodies out and in use most of the time...
And yes, that does mean you can expect a load of photos once I get back - I took more than 3000 last time, so I'm expecting more than that this time around... 😉

When I do get back keep an eye out here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/dave_gray

So what other bits are we taking? I'll also have a Vosonic VP5500 to back up the CF cards to, two battery chargers for cameras, 2 Power Monkeys and assorted adapters, iPhone 4, BT-355 GPS logger, Manfrotto 055CXPRO4 tripod, Manfrotto 808RC4 head, and various filters for lenses.
Peter is taking: Nokia N800, a GPSr, and that's it I think! so not as much as me really! Dad is taking his camera, and Asus EEE Netbook. Hmmm looks like me with the biggest gadget bag!

Cheers,
Dave


Advertisement



Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb