Arrived Home Safely but vvvery cccold


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Reading
January 29th 2011
Published: January 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

PGtipsPGtipsPGtips

How I have missed you
Leaving Kampala Airport was the usual chaos of Africa, Going through pointless scanners where no one really checks you at all. There were three flights all taking off at roughly the same time, Heathrow, Paris and Amsterdam and no one really knew where to go and people were just standing everyone looking confused!

I thought stuff this and winded my way through the formed queue and walked up to the British Airways desk and off my bag went. We went through to Immigration. Mike went through with no problems - me on the other hand I was finally seeing actual security in Africa's Airports - They thought my passport was fake! they ran their fingers over the picture, they held it up to the light and called a supervisor who finally let me through. Of all the people coming through they think Iam the one with the fake passport!

so we have passed immigration but it wouldnt be Africa if we didnt go through another scanner so off we went again, my bag got pulled aside "excuse me Miss, do you have a device in in here?" my answer was obviously WHAT!! REALLY!! I told him go ahead have a look see what you can find. Obviously nothing.

After I smuggled onto the plane with my fake passport and bomb the flight was a bit turbulant but I managed to sleep quite a bit, I was impressed.

Getting off of the flight was horrible, cold, dark, miserable, a drop in 30 degrees it was like walking into a freezer. I did chuckle at the thought of the rude African woman from the airport who was obviously heading to the UK for the first time in a stappy dress - tut tut 😊

I am home now, I have had a few hours sleep and a shower and have just finished my first mug of PG tips in 3 weeks and I know that tommorow morning I will not be woken to the call of "Prayer is better than sleep" at 5am for the first time in 3 weeks ahhhh sleep and PGtips I have missed you both.

I want to thank you all for following my blog, I am not a writer and I know my spelling and grammar has been awful but I hope it has given you an insight into what Africa is all about and thankyou for your kind comments and private messages, they have kept me writing.

Life is back to normal now for a while, I will be working from home Monday to catch up with my Admin from the trip and back in the office in Slough on Tuesday.

My next trip is in March and I will be going to Lagos, Nigeria, so I will continue my blog again then


Enjoy your weekends whatever you are doing

Lisa
xxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb