Gary Coleman and MSG


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Reading
February 22nd 2009
Published: February 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Good eve all.

First thing is first, I have to address a few fans, haha hardly. Mélanie, thank you for all your kind words, I am so glad you are reading this! But you asked about Communications, I'm not sure how universities work in Quebec, but since I am still technically attending an American university I do everything through them. If you wanted to come to the UK, you would have to see what sort of study abroad programs your university offers, they might do an exchange program with some Unis in the UK. Second of all, the American Uni system is a bit more confusing than the straight forward European-style ones. We basically attend school for 4 or more years, not on a set course, but we have to complete a certain amount of credits. Since I am still a first year, I have lots of prerequistes (or what we call general-education requirements) that I have to take before I can offically start taking classes that are directly related to my major (B.A. in Comm/mass media) for example I need to take 2 maths classes. 2 science classes (this is where Archaeology comes in) and other things like English, humanities, history, etc. Usually your first two years are filled with satisfying these requirements and then you offically enter your major.

Sorry, hope I didn't make that even more confusing for you, if you have any more questions feel free to ask.

Where did I leave off?

On Avenue Q! Chris and I saw that on Thursday night. I had got him the tickets for Christmas, so it was good to finally get to go. As we were walking to our seats he turned to me and said, "you know, I know someone that works here, I could have possibly got us better seats." Boy, did he eat his words as we walked up to the front row. I don't know how familiar all of you are with Avenue Q (if you aren't you NEED to become so) but the guy who was playing Nicky/trekke monster was the best by far! Everytime he did the bad idea bears I was cracking up.

I was afraid that all the things that truly make Avenue Q funny wouldn't translate to a British Audience, but it worked well. Chris said he knew who Gary Coleman was, but I heard the woman behind us having to explain it to her group.

Friday, Chris had the day off but he spent most of it setting up a computer for someone, which means I was left to entertain myself. I didn't get anything done....... should have done homework. I called a few people though (BY THE WAY: friends or family, if you want me to call you sometime soon, send me a message with your phone number in it) Even though it meant having to spend most of the day by myself, I was really proud of Chris for helping out this lady for virtually nothing. He came back all chipper, and I really like seeing him so happy. And I know he reads these, STALKER!

In the evening we went to Furama, a chinese restaurant in town for a friend, Jenny's birthday. It's kind of weird, you pay £15 per person and you can order anything or everything off the menu. But drinks are £3 each, no free refills of course and the food is probably loaded with salt/msg so you will be thirsty. The dishes comeout and go on a big lazy susan in the middle of the table so everyone shares. We went with 13 people so there was a lot of food! And let it be known their bathrooms have pink toilet paper, I wonder if the boys have blue?

Saturday was a nice relaxing day. I slept until 1:45! I guess waking up at 7:30 every morning caught up with me. But then I also wasn't feeling very good. I may have skirted the plague of flat 15, but now I am coming down with a cold. When I finally got up I went for a walk, to Asda of course. On the way, this little boy (no older than 3 ) was walking with his mum. He stopped, looked at me and said (hey! what's your name!) In a very demanding way. I told him my name and asked him his, but then he just stared at me. It was very cute, even if his mum had to answer for him.

At Asda I bought all the ingrdients (and regretfully had to carry them back) for my first meat pie. It turned out amazing if I do say so myself. Turkey pie, with blueberry/cranberry. Very proud mama I was. Spent the rest of the evening with Robert (Chris' house mate) and Steve, a friend that was visiting from Portsmouth.

Today (Sunday) we went to a little pub called the Tally-ho for a family get together. It was kind of the celebrate two of Chris' cousins birthdays. I love his family. They are all very sweet, and I could talk to any of them for ages. For some reason, they all seemed to be amazed I was leaving in August. (Chris, put up picture from your iphone so I can take them for this entry!) I ate too much.

Sorry, got a little vague at the end. Its almost 1 am and I have class tomorrow. best wishes!

observation: My mother comes soon, and I am very excited

currently listening: Sweet Hours, by Beth Rowley

Advertisement



24th February 2009

I'm coming!!!
Can't wait to see you and have you show me around your new home. I do have one request: warmer weather. Love you, Mama.
2nd March 2009

Wow! Merci pour ce petit message en réponse a mes questions. Have a wonderful time with your mom! Mélanie

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb