Unqualified in Business Studies


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bedfordshire » Luton
March 9th 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ever since I switched from teaching science to humanities, I've been in charge of teaching four enterprise classes. Enterprise is a course designed by my school to combine citizenship and business studies. After the completion of the course, they're supposed to have two GCSE's (qualifications/certifications in business).

I don't know how to teach business.

When I first spoke with Samia about making the transfer from science to humanities, I saw that I'd have two year-10 enterprise classes and two year-11 enterprise classes. I said, "I don't know anything about business."

"It's really easy," she said. "We give you all the resources you need. You give the kids the assignments, and they do the work. Then you check off that it's been done."

"Oh, that doesn't sound too bad."

"Plus, in February, they'll finish with their IT coursework, so you can take them to the IT rooms and the IT teachers will take over for you. You'll just have to be there to supervise."

"Wow, that's great!"

It's not great. That's not AT ALL how it worked out.

I meet tonight with John and Samia and all the other enterprise teacher to discuss the course. Everyone seems to be confused about what we're supposed to be doing. I'm so confused, I don't even know what to ask.
1) I don't know what "coursework" is. We don't do that in the States.
2) How do I know what assignments to give the students?
3) Once I give the assignments, how do I assist them when I can't even do them myself?

I've never taken a business class in my life. I'm way out of my league. I feel lied-to.

This meeting lasts for two hours, and I don't learn a thing! All I get is a packet that contains a checklist of work the kids need to complete (not that they'll know how to do it, and I don't either). Samia says, "This packet has everything they need to know to complete the checklist."

OK.

I'll believe it if I hand out the packets and kids just jump to work. (Which will never happen.)

Advertisement



14th July 2009

teaching business classes
I found your blog today and I've been over to the U.K. a couple of times and would like to do something like you've done and live there for awhile and teach. How did you find a job? How did you get into this? Their system is sooo different from ours. I have friends there and we get in big arguments about how it's harder here than there. I'd love to stay in touch with you. I'm in California and have lived in Georgia. I teach middle school language arts and history and have a business degree and credential. Maybe I can give you some suggestions..

Tot: 0.415s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.2049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb