Balls to Bureaucracy.


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kyiv » Maidan Nezalezhnosti
June 7th 2009
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pok - pok - pok - pok - pok - pok - pok! - the sounds drifting through the chestnut trees outside my new building from games of tennis on the clay courts nearby are a soft Saturday morning wake-up call. The new neighbourhood is a refined one: sometimes a red squirrel appears in the tree opposite our balcony, or a husband and wife step into the courtyard below and help their toddler to practice walking. More often than not the bells of the Kievo-Pecherska Lavra chime loudly; the place is a calm village in the centre of a thrusting city.

The flat is cosy, too. Creaky chairs and a table sit in the narrow, mint green kitchen. It has a wide windowsill, on which I spent sleepless spring nights reading Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn's 'One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich' and Rudyard Kipling's 'Kim'. The living room has new cupboards along one wall and two old sofas along another. The bathroom is about the same size as the coat closet. All rooms have Russian Orthodox icons above their doors.

After a nomadic winter and spring, staying in the same district for weeks on end sacrificed the adrenaline that exploring a city brings for a feeling of belonging. It had been a whole year since I had last felt at home in Ukraine; the routine of rushing home to catch Kadety or Schastlivy Vmeste can do wonderful things to a tired mind. Watching eye-watering performances on Ukrayina Mae Talant (Ukraine’s Got Talent) stirred feelings of pride as well as awe, as gymnasts both impressive and adorable, admirable breakdancers, extraordinary artists and charismatic young performers represented the country’s creative side that has too little attention paid to it.

Around Kyiv, an hour hardly ever goes by without someone or something provoking my curiosity: the young man waiting for a train at Lukyanivska metro wearing a t-shirt with “Ferret Music!” written on the back; the man strolling opposite the Opera Theatre in a suave pair of shoes, a smart grey suit - and a shiny silver metal warrior’s helmet covering his face; a boy of about four on a push-bike near the Rodina-Mat’ war memorial skids away from his mother and over the first of ten concrete steps head first before Ana plucks him out of the air.

Chances to speak my own language were fewer and further between than washed armpits on the metro, but I spent enough time with English-speaking friends. Ray, an American working at an IT firm in Odessa, visited for long enough for us to sip beers together at Bar Babai, and I braved rush hour on a wonky marshrutka bus a few times to see friends from Kenya, Holland and Zimbabwe at the Church in Lybidska.

Of the few foreigners that I have spent time with in Kyiv, I have got to know Richard best of all, a Scotsman in his forties who arrived in Ukraine from Moscow five years ago and now tutors the children of a senior politician. He has eyes that hint at hundreds of scrapes with the malignant ‘underworld’ that lies beneath the surface of all cities in the CIS, and an eloquent, confident voice that suggests that he has become wiser from every one of them. We spent two evenings at the Lobanovsky football stadium watching Dynamo Kyiv, first as they beat Arsenal Kyiv 3-0, and a month later as they won the championship with a 3-2 win against Tavriya Simferopol.

In February - having looked for a new job for three months (and with hryvnya tumbling out of my wallet like sand through an egg timer) - I went back to work for the law firm where I had been a translator ever since I arrived in Ukraine.

It’s an eclectic way to use my Russian degree: since the winter I have spent days translating articles about the annual increase in output at paper factories in Zhidachevsk, Poninkovsk and Rubezhansk, the price of shares in the Slavutych brewery and developments in drilling technology at the Mekhedivsko-Golotovshchinskoe and Sviridovskoe oil fields, editing a mass of miscellaneous, meticulous memorandums, and proofreading correspondence for investigations about Brazilian chickens and Korean refrigerators.

At the start of summer the company moved to a new office, between Zoloti Vorota (The Golden Gates - the 11th Century fortress of Prince Yaroslav the Wise) and Podil, Kyiv’s oldest and prettiest quarter. Now that my commute doesn’t involve the sweaty scrum at Maidan Nezalezhnosti metro, and the balcony outside my office looks out on to the gorgeous St. Sophia’s Cathedral - and with colleagues that are as varied and unorthodox as my work - it’s a harmless enough way to spend my weekdays.

------------------------

You can find more of my writing and photography on my journal, Short stories and photographs from across Europe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Ana.Ana.
Ana.

Kyiv.


8th June 2009

What? You can't be serious about watching Kadety!
8th June 2009

You are really back!
So happy to be reading your blog again. Thanks for the "tour" of your cozy flat, and a glimpse of your typical day there. Washed armpits? That drew a laugh. Keep writing! (I'm behind with my travel blogs myself......)
8th June 2009

Happy Birthday!
Hope you are going to party like crazy...how old does this make you? Happy Birthday!
8th June 2009

Kadety
Egor, thanks for your message... one of my reasons for watching Kadety is that I used to live in Tver and I like the shots of the town in between scenes. The serial isn't bad as Russian shows go, I enjoy it, and Ana (Nastya) is quite fond of Makarov!
8th June 2009

Thanks Lili!
Thanks for your message! I'm worried about this blog, the writing is as tired as I am and because I've been working so much there isn't much news. I'll try to be a bit more productive soon!
8th June 2009

Thanks Pierre!
Thanks for your birthday wishes! Today Ana and I are taking a tram out of town for a picnic in the forest, with a very sweet cake. Some time soon we'll have a party. It makes me 24 - I'm officially in my mid-twenties!
9th June 2009

Million Dollar View
I really enjoy reading your blogs, always entertaining,what can I say about that view from your new office window....priceless!
11th August 2009

are you interested in a writing job?
Hello, I am Aaron, I also live in Kyiv. I've been here for more than 3 years now, and I have a small consultancy of writers. We create copywriting for large companies. If you are interested in some freelance work, just send me a line! Regards Aaron

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 38; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb