Kiev <> Hong Kong?!


Advertisement
Ukraine&#039;s flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kiev
July 26th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In the cityIn the cityIn the city

Looked nice ne!=)
So, yesterday afternoon the sun actually came out...so,
I went to this cobblestone touristy street that lead to the Sophia Monastary.

They have pretty nice street stalls on this street actually!...it was a slope tho...-__-"
Things are so cheap here! got this kinda glow-in-the-dark necklace...for 2Euros! haaa

Got to Sophia Church....HUGE...but things are weird here...
You need to get a ticket to get into the complex, then for the inside of the church and other exhibits, you need seperate tickets!! ahhhh...so ma farn!!!!!!
thank god they had a bit of the ticket info in English........but they werent that clear...
Anyways, quite nice...lots of wall paintings...gold...Russian style..

After that took the metro to the train station to get my tic to Odessa.I remember reading LP saying that they have some English around the train station....but..NO?! I couldnt see a single word in English...argh...
all lost and stuff, I just queued somewhere...and it took AN HOUR ! and I was the 3rd one in line!!!! WTH....><"
Anyways. finally, my turn and both night trains I found on the schedule was FULL!!!!!!
ARGH....thankfully, the staff understood some English and I just ask for any night trains..and there is this one that's
Daily Ukrainian food!Daily Ukrainian food!Daily Ukrainian food!

Nice and cheap from the red kitchen! I had no idea what they were...haaaa!
not on the schedule..it departs later and arrives later though....
Oh well, no choice. but this one was CHEAP!!! 8Euros for a 10 hour sleeper train ride!!!!!

Went back to the hostel and this English/Pakistan guy was in the dorm...
he just got in and we just headed out to find food...
He is sooooooo NG DIM...OMG.....he came to Ukraine to "find a girl"..I was like...WTH???
haaa.....he is so gay...but then he was complaining about how western girls are not "girlie and polite and sweet" enough.....I so wanted to start a debate with him! haaaaa!! I did tell him.."if you have to come all the way delibertately to FIND a girl....that's sad enough..." haaaa....he didnt reply to that...wahaaa! I felt so mean...^^"

Anyways, I was so freakin tired...I slept right away after going back.

Slept in this morning...hee....and then headed off to the Cave Monastary...
OMGOOOOODness.....the complex is HUGE....It's very nice and had lots of museums and stuff to see.....not much explaination in English though...=( The church was nice, they had TONS of mummified monks in the caves!..all covered up...it was a little freaky...but interesting to see.
and you see how religious people are...just kissing and praying
Modern KyivModern KyivModern Kyiv

Nice building outside..the inside was a market and it was kinda...dirty and old...haaa!
to every one of them...

Anyways, after the 4 hours walk ..very close was the park with the war memorial thing....it was nice!!!! huge relaxing park, nice statues, wide open space! Decided not to go into the museum as I heard nothing is in English there.....so not that I can understand anything anyways.

Next went to the big busy city centre street...WOW...its like HK.....completely like HK, except the buildings look a little older.....haa....Everything was on sale and I just did a big shopping hour! haa..got a dress, a tee, a top.....altogether, 26 Euros?!?! DAI AH!!!! haaa.....my backpack is so full....

I also had a meal at this pick the food and then pay restaurant....
I didn't know what I was pointing at and it ended up..to be almost all deserts! OMG.....cherry jam filled dumplings...........they didnt taste too good...-___-" but tried some Ukrainian soup..and meat......not bad ne!!! the taste not too heavy=P

So far, Kiev has been great!! I liked Belgrade but I like Kiev more!!!!! its such a big city with nice people. Kiev really remind me of Hong Kong...dunno if its me missing home or just the vibrant city feeling....The city here looks old...but actualyl
Some church...Some church...Some church...

Ukrainian style...closer to the Russian family.
its very modernize and fast..! Efficient service, cool looking people but very nice. Besides the lack of supermarkets...its easy to get everything you want...its cheap but just quality! haa...Since I havent been able to get to Lvov this trip..I might really come back! heeeee....
(only thing is the hostel here are the most expensive ones so far!!!!...$__$)

Gotta go back to the hostel now.. off to Odessa!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

church bells..church bells..
church bells..

Churches here have bells outside instead of in the tower!?
Sofia ChurchSofia Church
Sofia Church

I think... nice and greeeen......
KvasKvas
Kvas

Non-alcoholic beer....with some sweet ends to it..very very very popular drink in this part of the world!!!!!
War memorial parkWar memorial park
War memorial park

with this HUGE HUGE statue...the park itself is very nice with a nice museum as well!
Main Central SquareMain Central Square
Main Central Square

That's where everyone hangs out and where all the shopping is!....nice big square..


Tot: 0.334s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb