Where Has the Time Gone?


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
September 1st 2012
Published: September 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's been almost a month since I visited Switzerland and I can't believe I haven't written about it yet! Time has just flown by. I don't know where August went!

I was so glad my friend Sarah (who was a foreign exhange student in my high school) invited me to come stay with her for a few days because Switzerland is SO beautiful! We had a fantastic time eating good Swiss cheese, bread, chocolate, fruits, drinking wine on the balcony and seeing the sights. We went up Mt. Pilatus in Luzern in a cable car and it was so much fun! The view from up there was mind blowing. And everything was so green my mind almost couldn't process it. We wandered around Luzern which is an old medieval town with some beautiful buildings and a lovely little lake. We walked old bridges, fed swans, and then went back to Sarah's apartment in Basel where we hung out with her cool Greek roommate, Vaso.

The next day we played around Basel. We climbed up to the very top of a Gothic cathedral and it was so cool and also pretty scary! The stairs were so tight and dark it felt like we had walked back in time. The cathedral was gorgeous inside and out and you could see all of Basel from the top of the spires! When we got down from the top of the cathedral we were hot and tired so we decided to get some ice cream and sit at the Rhine with our feet in the water. It was paradise! We took a water taxi across the river and I really wanted to go swimming. But despite how hot it was that weekend, the Rhine was VERY cold.

On my last day in Switzerland Sarah took me to a little tiergarten where we saw some really neat animals that I had never seen before. We walked along a little creek and then went out for cocktails that night. I had something called a Coral Sea that was the best drink I've ever had! Then we went to see a nearby fountain that had moving parts that was really cool. There are SO many fountains in Switzerland! They are just everywhere and most of them the water is clean for drinking. Anyway, then we went to the Museum of Art to listen to some music and it poured down rain! It was really pretty though, listening to the music with the pounding of the rain and the city lights.

I'm so lucky to have been able to see such a gorgeous country and I had such a lovely hostess!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb