Schlaf Gut, Zurich: Sleep well Zurich.


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
September 12th 2009
Published: September 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My desk at 4amMy desk at 4amMy desk at 4am

Got some food?
Hi guys,

Any news?
I am still waiting for any update regarding my visa. The last email I received was on Friday assuring me that they were trying their best so I won't miss my deadlines. I only have Monday and Tuesday! Crossed my fingers.
Otherwise..., well I don't want to think about it now.

Anyhow, I am still in the news sleep cycle (plus having some hardtimes going to sleep).
Last night, I felt like going for a run. That was perfect time for me, but maybe not for everyone. Around 5am.
Night is so calm, peaceful and relaxing.
Sometimes it feels like that it wants you to go out and pay more attention to everything it has to offer. The silence, the stars and the sky.
Anyhow, I convinced myself to do it.
So, I also brought my camera along to picture the city of Zurich in the early morning.
I decicde to run from my place where I live to the ETH university.
Round trip it is almost 8K.
The fist thing that cauht my eyes was how many street lights were available. Unlike Santa Barbara, you could see everything from far distance.
Second thing, was
Zurich 5amZurich 5amZurich 5am

Our complex. Somehow on-campus housing.
the public transportation and local Trams. Gosh, they are still working at that time and on time.
I even noticed one Tram without any passenger on it and it stopped at one station without anyone around.
Either call it the Swiss way or one mandatory stop! :-)
Also, I realized that there were significant number of people using the public transportation at that time. Considering the fact that it was early Saturday, I was wondering where they all were heading to?

Also, on the way to ETH Zurich, the only shop which was open was a self Solarium (Tanning Shop!).
Also, a Bakery about to open soon since you could esily tell the smell. I really want to have breakfast here! :-D

Once I got to ETH and close my office, the building has closed circuit cameras. I was taking pictures (as you see). Then suddenly a car approached me with blue lights! Man, what am I supposed to tell them if that car is Cops car?
How could I make them believe this story? I decided to run and also take pictures of Zurich at 5am! And taking picture of a somehow secured area. :-) No ID
Zurich 5amZurich 5amZurich 5am

Let's start.
or anything!
The car even slowed down, but that was lucky! It was just a Taxi...

I was waiting for a beautiful twilight. But I did not get any. The timing should have been good, but the sky was cloudy.
I headed back home after taking some more pictures. That was kind of quick. Just 40 minutes.
Took a shower and hoped that I could fall sleep. But, I could not.

Nowadays, I met an Iranian student who has just arrived in Zurich to start his PhD at ETHz.
He is really busy with finding an apartment. I can't believe all the problems he has been facing regarding housing.
It does not look like a fair competition for him (or any international newcommer).
A lot of applicants for each house and all the landlords ask you to turn in application forms.
And most of those forms mostly have two important questions:
What is your nationality?
How much do you earn?

And only based on those, they usaully choose whom their next renter will be.
I hope he can find a good place soon since he is also under a lot of pressure for his wife's visa application
Zurich 5amZurich 5amZurich 5am

Trams still working.
(he needs to have the place first and then apply for her Visa to join him here).
Good luk.

I said all these stories to tell you that when I came back home, Tofigh was sleeping on my couch and I literally woke him up.
Around 6am.
But then later in the day, we went together to see another apartment he had contacted the agency before.


Ok, I am trying now to go to bed after such a long day(s).

Have fun,
Momo





Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

Well, almost!
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

No comment.
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

Getting close to ETHz.
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

I love those trees.
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

ETHz, Computer Science buidling. My office somewhere on 3rd floor.
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

My office at ETHz.
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

Heading back home.
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

At least some lights.
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

Who would leave those barrels outside!
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

The park close to my place. The path that I usually take for running.
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

Park close to my place. Who dares to run now? :-)
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

You will see cars parked in some designated areas even on the crosswalk. But that should be really expensive I guess.
Zurich 5amZurich 5am
Zurich 5am

Back home, Me.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb