The Matterhorn


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Zermatt
January 18th 2011
Published: January 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

How lucky I am to have been invited to share this last week of my trip with Chris and Sue's last week. Not ever having skiied, I would never have come to such a place. So different from anywhere I have ever been before. It really has to be seen to be believed. So beautiful and so amazing. It is fascinating to see so many people form different countries all enthusiastically skiing in this winter wonderland amid the Alps. Everyone is doing it...families with children and babies, older people ...

Then they all seem to enjoy sitting on terraces eating and drinking in the sunshine. It has not been cold this week, although I believe it is going to get cold again tomorrow.

I had a try and was quite successful, but felt that for me to ski on the other days the return in terms of what I could hope to achieve would not justify the outlay in terms of cost and possible inconvenience to others and possible danger to myself. I would not be able to keep up with them. So have have enjoyed myself pottering around looking at things and have twice taken the funicular railway up the mountainside and had lunch.

Our hotel is wonderful, with fully equipped gym, pool, ice skating rink, rock climbing wall, sauna etc! Lots to do. I am about to go down to the gym to walk and ride a bike then swim in preparation for what seems like 3 days of idleness on the way home. Tomorrow we leave here and take the glacier express down to Zurich, where we spend the last night of our holidays and then begin the long trip home by Friday night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb