Switzerland- If only I was rich...


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Zermatt
September 16th 2007
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I am in Switzerland, nestled at the base of the Alps. We can see the Matterhorn just outside of our hostel. So yeah, it's pretty freaking awesome!

We've done some hiking, nothing too extreme because I have been a little under the weather and the high altitude isn't being nice to my lungs. But the views have been spectacular! There are mountains everywhere. And I must say that I like the weather here a lot more than Rome, it is like fall here but flowers are still in bloom!

Today I did something I never thought I would do: I went paragliding! It was possibly the most amazing thing ever! Our jump point was about 1000 feet above the town. I could see for miles and miles, there wasn't a way I could look that wasn't beautiful. We glided for a while and then the pilot (it was a tandem jump) did some acrobatics. We did spins and swung back and forth and a little bit of free fall. It was like a massive roller coaster!

So basically I wish I was rich so I could move to Zermatt. It is just an amazing place. It is completely car free. The only transportation is teeny tiny electric taxis or horse and buggies! The air is so clean and clear I just can't believe it. The downside is the price of things. Meals cost at least 20 bucks if you eat in a restaurant.

Tomorrow we are going to spend a little more time in Zermatt, then we are heading to Geneva. We're visiting the UN offices there. Then it is on to Grenoble to fly back to London. It's hard to believe this adventure is coming to an end!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb