Switzerland the end of part I


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Sion
October 19th 2007
Published: October 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Its time to leave Switzerland. besides the fact that my tourist permit had almost expired, I found out that I am becoming Swiss. I've started smiling and saying: "good morning" to people in the street . I DID!!. Yes, its time to move on. But first, let me start with a

Hugh apology

I leid to you, I have deceived you, I used my fame (I am still not over the googling my name thing yet) to mislead you. I am sorry. I am talking about the previous entry when i told you that people take their houses with them because its comfortable, easy, cheap etc... (not only that i am a famous writer now, I even write follow-ups... ) now listen, the fame thing (have you googled me yet?) is all over my head, I know but all you have to do is (if you want) read my blog every so and so and be patient until I will get over it. I need to live with my self!!) where where we? ah, homes on wheels..I found the real reason for taking the home with you - they just couldn't be bothered with packing!!as some of you know - packing is annoying, stressing, you don't know what to take, how would the weather be, what goes with what, how can I combine trekking and dinner parties etc...Before I had Roger, packing included a very simple yes/no decision making: I have asked my self yes/no questions, If the answer was yes, then the item went to the NO pile. complicated? try living in my head! or at least read again.. :Do i need to iron it? Yes, then it goes to the NO pile. can i squeeze it in to something tiny? YES pile can I buy it there? NO pile can I survive without it.. etc...Now I have Roger... no more decision making but - do i need it? definitely not. o.k. I will take 5 then. That's why people want mobile homes, then they want one that is bigger and has more storage space... believe me, never ending story... Now I think that mobile homes are just big expensive suitcases.
O.k. now, that I am done with my apologies, lets go to the main idea of this entry: I am leaving Switzerland. no, lets go back a little. Switzerland was never on my "to go" list. never. And I never thought that a couple I met in Kenya, 2 years ago, for 2 or 3 times will become as important to me as Deborah and Nando did. We kept in touch through emails, I had to leave Italy and was looking for a woofing place in Switzerland and asked them about it. Due to a story that is too long to be detailed here, I've ended up staying with them for 3 months. Its amazing how truly they've accepted me as a part of the family, as a friend, as a kid that needs sheltering (PEOPLE SPEAK FRENCH HERE), as an ignorant tourist. They became a family to me too... I don't think that when they invited a 30 ++ years old woman to stay with them they thought that they will have a new teenager - all I did was to eat their food, drink their wine and surf the net. As usual with my way of life, I can't tell you much about the tourists attractions here. I have only a very personal Idea about Switzerland, and I think its a narrow cut but very deep one (please don't ask me to explain this one, It just sounds very deep so it stays).
How do I find Switzerland? a Nando answer: "on the map. just look for Italy (its easy to find and then a little above it.. not too much.. u might miss it!!" the other option would be - head north from Milan. you will hit Switzerland at some point.. . its a postcard, its clean, its polite, everything functions, they trust, they smile, they are so positive its almost disturbing. All I wanted to do was to shake them a little. and see what falls out of them. That's usually when u find all the hidden, real truth... That Switzerland is not only the postcards with the mountains, snow, cows and greenery. It is also a country that is changing - they live in a very advanced reality when it comes to the environment, technology etc, but very traditional when it comes to families household, women's traditional roles in the family, and smoking. I am still shocked to see how many smokers there are here, how little limits over the places you can smoke in (even Israel is far ahead when u think of that). Like most of the world, Switzerland is dealing with immigration, and its affects. But while other countries are terrified form the changes, closing up to them and rejecting them - the Swiss culture tries to accept them with less negative emotions. They accept the fact that reality is changing.. they are not trying to hide from it. (it doesn't hide the fact that who you are and where did you come from are still important..)The funny thing was me adjusting to the fact that Swiss people (o.k., Nando) has military life stories.. I know that Switzerland has an army. that's one level. Being an Israeli, I am used to all of those "when i was in the army" talks. I'm just not used to it in English, from non-Israelis. I have enjoyed Switzerland in the most beautiful time of the year - autumn. When the colors changes from green to yellow to brown, when you wake up to a sunny day after a rainy night and see that around you the mountains tops are covered in snow, that every few days everything looks different...
Now, since I am leaving Switzerland, I also have to say goodbye to fast Internet connection. So please, those of yo that got into the habit of sending me non-personal emails (which I call JUNK MAIL) please, I know u think that you are very brave for ignoring the embargo I 've placed on junk mail but - - U also know how violent I am can become when I sit in an Internet cafe that costs me 5 euros an hour and it takes me 20 min. to open an email (i am not talking Africa, I am talking Italy here) and what I get is some junk mail inviting me to something i can't (and, lets face it, probably wont) go to.
Heading to Italy with Roger now, Rinat (my friend from Israel) will visit me in few days for few days and then - another adventure will start. new farm, new people..


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

HeidiHeidi
Heidi

Told you I found her
Gruye're Gruye're
Gruye're

cheese factory
come on...come on...
come on...

Its a cheese factory!!


Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb