First Days In Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Leysin
August 15th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I have been here a bit over 24 hours now and completely forgot how amazing this town is. I just start singing "It's a Small World" immediately. Last night I had dinner with Miles, Laurie and Marc and we drank some wine. I slept for about 12 hours and for some reason just could not get my act together. Thank goodness the kids were all delayed so we did not start class today. As I was trying to prepare for the day I began to feel horrible. I thought it was my ears and allergies and then realized I ran out of my antidepressants three days ago and stopped taking them cold turkey. (Ok, this is a bizarre blog, but most of you know I take happy pills for sleeping problems and face it, it's cool to have a shrink these days). I told Laurie this and she got a bit worried since I was pretty much shaking and I guess going through withdrawal. I don't know how they did it but next thing I know I am at this bright canary yellow doctor's office sitting with a little French doctor who is looking things up in a huge medical book. I have no clue what he is saying and just keep replying "wi". I get a prescrition addressed to Madame Sutherland and my friends take me to the pharmacist who within 2 minutes dispenses me my medication. It seems as if there is a high suicide rate up on this mountain and antidepressants are readily available ... who the hell knew! This entire strange procedure took less than an hour! And people criticize socialized medicine ... are you kidding me???? I am starting to feel normal finally and enjoying the view from my room. I am of course including the toilet bowl picture for a reason. As I am sitting on it, I am staring right at the following views, yes, from the loo!

Classes start tomorrow finally and since I slept through today I am hoping to feel a bit more like myself tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb