My Life is Not Average


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lauterbrunnen
January 2nd 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 4 - Lauterbrannen, Swiss Alps
Wednesday 2nd January 2013


An optional excursion to the summit of the Jungfrau Mountain, home of Europe’s highest rail station anyone?!






So breakfast was spent discussing the night before, and getting ready to go! The tales I heard of what went on after I went to bed were hilarious! We walked up into town ready for our trip up Jungfrau. How exciting. Most people were still amazed by all the snow but wait until they get to the top. Some of the guys went skiing or snowboarding and some went for the cable car option, which I would have loved to do but it didn’t go to the summit! In for a penny, in for a pound. No point going halfway up is there! So I joined the majority and headed to the station.



The 2 hour rickety train ride up was quite fun. And cold. We reached the second to the top stop and jumped out for a quick vista view, and then we were there. Wow. My breathing became a little shallow due to the altitude. And here I am thinking I want to go to the top of Everest and K2 in the future.



Inside, we found the restaurant and ate lunch then proceeded through the Ice Palace with ice sculptures. Amazing! Until we reached the door to outside - the Top of Europe. And you could see why. Everywhere was brilliant white. And -18 degrees. OMG so much snow. Everyone went wild. Snow angels, naked pictures and snowball fights. How much fun we had up there – I have the photos to prove some of the goings on! But we couldn’t stay there forever. The train ride down again sitting with John and Shazza was quite a good laugh. They soon learned I was not the quiet librarian they kept calling me. We stopped for a hot chocolate in a small café on the way back, but I journeyed onward to camp to have a nice hot shower and get ready at snails pace.



We had dinner in the bar again and a fairly sober night this time. The cider they had was very addictive. I got to know a few more people a bit better and was glad to have found some new friends in our little group. Not missing home at all, I was really enjoying the trip so far!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb