Wow, it's a week already!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lausanne
July 18th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Goodbye New YorkGoodbye New YorkGoodbye New York

Around this time, it actually starts to hit me that I'm going to Europe
Man has this week gone by so fast. Figure it's time I sat down and told ya about it!
So our group left Phoenix last Friday (early morning) and got into Geneva early Saturday and eventually figured out the train system to get ourselves up the lake to Lausanne. There we met up with Raffael, the travel advisor for HEIG-VD (the school we're studying at), from there he told us it's a 5 minute walk to the metro that goes right to our dorms, not bad right? 1st, it's raining, but at least it wasn't cold... then we see our "5 minute walk" up a very nice long, somewhat-steep hill, with all our luggage. Around a half-hour later we get to the top and it's a fairly short walk downhill on a side street from there to the metro. And again, Raffael told us it's a 2 minute walk from the metro to the easily visable dorms... so about 10 minutes later we arrive at the dorms which were hidden from the metro by a big apartment complex... we've learned that while Swiss clocks and trains are always on time, their directions are not for slow Americans.

Eventually I got
Train rideTrain rideTrain ride

Heading from Geneva to Lausanne on the CFF
up to my room, a nice suite on the 4th floor with a central living room, kitchen, and 2 bathrooms connected to 5 private bedrooms. All was quiet in the room, though there was a lot of stuff lying around, apparantly I was sharing a room with some local students going to college in Lausanne. I dropped all my stuff off and settled in a bit when I heard some noises from another room... my suitemates were actually here, but sleeping off their partying from the night before! I briefly met Nadia, but Eda was still asleep.

Anyway, I'm heading out and hope to continue my stories sometime soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb