Interlaken!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
January 13th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Interlaken was miserable on Saturday afternoon because of the weather, but the hostel we stayed in was young Aussie central so that was fun. And they did this thing were drinks were 2 for one from 6-7 and then again from 9-10, and the beer is so heavy here so it was very economical and a good time. No studs rocked my world just yet (but I did get felt up by this creepy Italian, but that was more of an accident/misunderstanding than anything else hahaa)

The next morning was GORGEOUSSS! A perfect sunny day. I could finally see how beautiful Interlaken is, its completely surrounded by the alps and they were especially pretty since it had just snowed up there. Since it is the extreme sports capital of the world we wanted to do something extreme (original, no?), I was pulling for skiing but the only ones who wanted to go skiing decided to go skydiving, which was like 400 bucks and I’d rather just look out the window when a plane is landing and call it a day. So 7 of us decided to go for a canyon swing, which I thought would be like a zip line
canyon jumpcanyon jumpcanyon jump

so beautiful and so terrifying!
or something. Um no. Its like a dive and you free fall onto rocks and then the rope catches and you swing through this canyon, look it up on youtube, its sooooooo intense and bad ass and I still can't believe I actually did it!

We hike up this mountain in like knee deep snow and then we get to this ledge and we are sooo far up I’m too afraid to even look down, and there is nothing to stop me from slipping right over the edge. And then Heinz our tour guide goes “My man Ziggy will hook you up with harnesses, I’ll see you at the bottom!” and then he just jumps off the cliff! I look over at Ziggy and he is like smoking a blunt and there is tribal music playing and he has dreadlocks past his shoulders and I just about ran back down the mountain. But I stuck it out, (peer pressure is such a bitch.) I had a mini panic attack right before it was my turn, I stood on the ledge forever holding Ziggy’s hand and my legs just wouldn’t let me walk off. Look at my pictures, Ziggy
ziggyziggyziggy

action shot. apparently he is one of the best euro bungee jumpers.
kept taking my picture so I have some classic ones of me looking completely terrified. I kept saying I was going to die and Ziggy kept sayng I was going to die but not today. So wise! And I actually did it! I just closed my eyes and pretended I was walking off a diving board (except it felt more like a plank) and felt the most adreneline I have ever felt in my life. I wanted to scream but I couldn’t. I could just hear wind and the water below rushing and people screaming.. it was an out of body experience. Life changing in fact. I honestly felt like I was falling to my death and then the rope caught and I just feel like I can do anything now. I wish I could describe it better, but there just aren’t enough words to explain it. I just want everyone to watch the videos and drool over my badassness haha.


Love Love,

Liza



Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

BalmersBalmers
Balmers

Our hostel, one of the oldest in Switzerland (or maybe europe)
bottom bottom
bottom

you can see the crack in the mountain where we jumped
platform we jumped fromplatform we jumped from
platform we jumped from

i had to zoom it was so high
snow!snow!
snow!

on the hike up to the platform
canyoncanyon
canyon

it still gives my butterflies
chopped woodchopped wood
chopped wood

Nancy was right! so neat!!
canyoncanyon
canyon

we reached the canyon and i was too afraid to get too close, the cables were the only thign stopping me from slipping to my death! and ihave a feeling i would have fallen trhough them haha
alpsalps
alps

distracting myself from the task at hand


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb