Day 12: Geneva City Highlights (Apr 2017)


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
April 24th 2017
Published: July 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Monday, 24th April 2017

I had only the morning to explore the city of Geneva proper before continuing my journey on the train to Interlaken in the afternoon. I was up rather early this morning which was okay considering that my hotel room wasn't that comfortable anyway.

I headed straight to the Main Station where I caught a tram to the United Nations Office. This was where I took pictures outside the main gates. Overlooking the Broken Chair Sculpture, this is a must-see Geneva icon for me. I also walked to the nearby International Red Cross Museum and took more pictures of the buildings. Since the museum is closed on Mondays (which was a pity), I wasted no time to head back to the city centre to have a quick breakfast followed by some grocery shopping at the German-owned, Lidl. Some of the chocolates and drinks were even cheaper than what I was paying back home. In expensive Switzerland, I was rather surprised.

After breakfast, I headed to the waterfront by the Rhone River to have more pictures taken. Against the beautiful mountains, I was blessed with clear blue skies, fresh air and crystal clean water at the start of my Swiss journey. This was certainly a good sign for my coming days in this beautiful nation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.388s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 80; dbt: 0.3113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb