A night in the Geneva Airport


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
April 30th 2004
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Right after finishing up my semester in Lithuania, I flew down to Geneva via Copenhagen in order to join my travel study (Geneva 2 Rome, TWU). Due to flight schedules, I ended up flying in the night before the group arrived. Since I had never been in the city and couldn’t stomach prices for transportation or lodging, I stayed in the Airport over night. A must do experience for everybody (once is enough though). Geneva was a fun airport to do this in, because it is a minor enough transport hub to actually shut down at night. The police came by to make sure that those of us who were staying would be staying all night, and then proceeded to lock the doors. I assumed that there was some form of fire escape available to us, but it seemed that we were not free to have a change of heart regarding the overnight matter of our stay. I found out that the airport police are in charge of collecting money from the arcade games, which takes them about 45 minutes because they play of few in the process (head to head race car driving is their favorite.) I ended up talking
Farewells at Karklu DormFarewells at Karklu DormFarewells at Karklu Dorm

L to R: Liga (from Riga), me, Alma (from Albania)
for a few hours with a Masters student in University Library Administration. She was from Malaysia and studying in the UK. After about 2am, I crawled up on my bags and got a few hours of sleep before the PA system started giving out routine announcements. A whole lot more interesting than a night in a hotel, plus, the price was right. For more on sleeping in Airports: there is a website! http://www.sleepinginairports.net/


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Farewells at Vilnious AirportFarewells at Vilnious Airport
Farewells at Vilnious Airport

Tony, Mark and Jesse were off to Paris, Leah was picking up her mom, and I was flying to Copenhagen
The drive to the VilniousThe drive to the Vilnious
The drive to the Vilnious

It had been a long night


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb