Geneve, je t'aime.


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Lac LemanLac LemanLac Leman

J'adore Lac Leman au Geneve. Si vous regardez a cote mon pied a droit, il y a Mont Blanc. (If you look next to my right foot, there is Mont Blanc!)
I finally put all those years of French class to good use this weekend.
I took easyJet to Geneva from Praha for the weekend. For only about $60 for the roundtrip ticket, I had to.
I spoke a lot of French, drank even more Orangina, and loved every second.
I knew Geneva was close to the mountains, but I didn't realize how big they were. On the second day I was there, the clouds cleared up, and I had an awesome view of Mont Blanc and the French Alps to the south, across the lake.
I had packed all my winter clothes and ended up wearing only a sweatshirt the hole time because it was so warm...between 0 and 5 C.

Geneva was a lot smaller than I expected, so after checking out of my hostel, and saying "Au revoir" to my 67 year old roomates...I'm not kidding...
I decided to try and go to France. I jumped on a public bus which was headed to "St. Julien" and I hoped for the best.
I just stayed on the bus until the bus driver yelled at me and said that "nous sommes a la terminus..." Love her.
But, I made
Vieux VilleVieux VilleVieux Ville

The Old Town of Geneva, up on the hill.
it across the French border and had had some coffee and some amazing bread. It was a lot cheaper there because it was NOT Switzerland. So I stocked up on Orangina and Baguettes for the rest of my trip...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Un cafe francaisUn cafe francais
Un cafe francais

This cafe was awesome. Right in the middle of a tiny French town, right after church on a Sunday morning, so it was packed.
United NationsUnited Nations
United Nations

bringing peace and orangina to the Headquarter of the UN
Le Jet D'EauLe Jet D'Eau
Le Jet D'Eau

this is the largest fountain in the world. How big is it? I have no idea...it's big.


Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb