Busy Weekend!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
January 18th 2012
Published: January 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Frosty!Frosty!Frosty!

It has been colder here over the last couple of days.
Well, we had a great weekend, but a busy one.

Friday, I was able to go out with my colleague's for a cheese fondue at Bains des Pâquis - just on the opposite side of the Jet d'Eau on Lac Léman. It was a neat place. You place your order for the fondue and then the waiters walk down the restaurant shouting your name until they find the person that the fondue belongs to. Also, to help with digestion, while eating a cheese fondue, you shouldn't drink water. Supposedly it doesn't sit well with the warm cheese. Instead, you are encouraged to drink wine. Maybe, that's just another excuse to drink wine 😉 Naturally, in true Swiss fashion, supper lasted 2 and a half hours and then my colleagues wanted to go out for after supper drinks. We found a bar called The Clubhouse. It was an English bar, with an English menu. That was a first for me since coming on the exchange. So, it wasn't until midnight that I got home.

Saturday we went and got a membership and some books from the English library in Geneva. Also, we then we out with some of our friends from church to celebrate a 40th birthday. We went to a sushi restaurant called Sushi Misuji. It was hear that I tried sushi for only the second time in my life. We tried urumaki, temaki and sashimi - I think. It was alright. But I have to say that sushi is not my favorite type of food. We did have a great time with our friends from church though. Also, it was on this Saturday that we got a babysitter for the first time - other than my parents or my sister. My principal's daughter babysat for us. Everything went well and Isabelle was asking when she would see our babysitter again. So, I think that Avery and I will go out for a movie for our anniversary.

Sunday we went to church and then Isabelle and I went to a hockey game. I received a ticket from one of my parents. The game was against Lugano. It was a game where you had to take a stuffed animal and then you threw it on the ice after Genève scored their first goal. It was a fun game and Isabelle liked throwing her stuffed animal. The bad news was that Genève lost. They need to play really well over their next 10 games if they hope to make the playoffs.

Needless to say, I was tired for school on Monday. I have been getting some good rest over the past couple of nights though.

Jarod

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb