First Official Travel Day in Switzerland!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
September 3rd 2011
Published: September 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Château Chillon.Château Chillon.Château Chillon.

The view as we were coming up to the castle.
Well, today we made our first trek in Switzerland - we didn't even get lost! We went to see Château Chillon just outside of Montreux. It was a beautiful castle, built on a small rock island that is located on Lac Léman. There were 40 something different rooms/spaces to see in the castle, so there was a lot of information to take in, which also involved a lot of walking and stairs. I had to carry Myles in the hiking backpack, strollers weren't allowed. We discovered why when we were doing our self-guided tour. There were some extremely narrow passage ways and some short door frames. I had to hunch down quite often to get from one place to another. I felt like the hunchback of Chillon.

After our time at Château Chillon, we went down to a little beach that was close to the castle. We had a picnic lunch with us and then we waded into the water. All was going fine until out of nowhere a grumpy white swan showed up. We were just getting the kids of the water, the swan was 3 feet away from us and hissing at us. I took Isabelle to higher
Cuties!Cuties!Cuties!

Avery and Isabelle in the first courtyard.
ground so that I could put on her shorts and panties. Later, I discovered that in our haste, I put on her shorts and panties backwards. Oh well, at least we were safe.

After our near death experience with that swan, we drove to Montreux and walked along the promenade along the lake. It was a pretty town that reminded us a little bit of Monaco. So we spent some time in Montreux, had supper and returned home to Avully in a rainstorm.

As I was putting the kids to bed tonight, I was singing the song about peace like a river in my soul. The refrain goes, "And I'm so happy, so very happy, I've got the love of Jesus in my heart." After I sang this song, Isabelle said, "But I don't have Jesus in my heart." I asked her if she wanted Jesus in her heart and she said yes. So we prayed for Jesus to live in her heart. It was such a precious time.

Jarod




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Chillon from the back.Chillon from the back.
Chillon from the back.

This is where we had our close encounter with the Swan.
Jet d'Eau.Jet d'Eau.
Jet d'Eau.

Isabelle and I walked out to the Jet d'Eau after we first got to Geneva, August 6, 2011.
Nice.Nice.
Nice.

The Promenade des Anglais.
Swimming in Nice.Swimming in Nice.
Swimming in Nice.

Rocky beach and bigger waves.
Les Crocolions.Les Crocolions.
Les Crocolions.

Isabelle's first day at Crocolions.
Jardin Botanique.Jardin Botanique.
Jardin Botanique.

Avery and the kids went to the botanic gardens Friday, September 2, 2011.


4th September 2011

God in the heart
Jarod- When I think of you I think of someone who has God in his heart. I love your blog. This entry made me smile and remember the times when my children were little.. You are a very special man. Someday I want to have coffee with your Mom- I want to tell her what a wonderful son she has! May God Bless you and Avril and he kids-Debbie B.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb