Week One - Almost Done!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
September 1st 2011
Published: September 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Urinals.Urinals.Urinals.

Anyone need to go pee? These are the urinals at my school.
Well, my first week is almost done and I had my first Wednesday off yesterday. Although, yesterday wasn't the most relaxing day. The kids always seem to wake up so early, the little rats. So, we were up early and headed to downtown Geneva to try and enrol Avery into a French class. We showed up at Université Populaire de Genève at 8:30 am and we were greeted by a line of about 200 people. It turns out that we needed to first get a ticket to have any chance of registering. And for this ticket, there were people in line at 5 am. Crazy! Needless to say, we did not register there. I then spent the rest of the morning on the phone trying to find a French course for Avery. After much effort, I think that we may have found a course through Collège de Saussure. We will see.

Also, I need to find a place to get my hair cut. Last time I tried to use my electric razor, there was a smoke show. I tried using my electric razor again, I was able to partially trim the sides of my hair around my ears and then
Ride to School.Ride to School.Ride to School.

I have beautiful scenery on my bike ride to school.
I heard a pop. The razor died. Probably, not the smartest thing to be doing for your first week of school in a new country.

I went to play hockey last night. I found a group to play with from CERN - a nuclear research facility in Meyrin. I had to drive to Trois Chênes last night, using a map and driving in the dark. This is when I wished that the street names were on green road signs like back in St. Albert. The ones here are on dark blue signs that are pretty much impossible to read in the dark. Needless to say, I had to pull a few fish hooks until I finally arrived at my destination. I made it on time and enjoyed getting on the ice.

I have been enjoying my class. I still feel like I am taking in a boatload of information, which is mentally exhausting. However, I am happy and excited to go to work everyday.

Jarod




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Relaxing.Relaxing.
Relaxing.

On my Wednesday off, Myles and Isabelle were watching Dora.


7th September 2011

Wow!
What a way to start the day! I don't think anywhere in Alberta looks quite like that!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb