Luzern


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
August 31st 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post


In Luzern, Switzerland, I stayed with a girl called Sarah. She is a student, but on holidays, is really good at singing and playing guitar, and has excellent music taste! She met me at the station with her friend Martina, and we went to her house on the bus. That evening we made some samosas together, which were yummy! And then we went out for a drink. Luzern is a bit strange because during summer break all the bars close, so it took us a while to find somewhere that was open! We had a drink in an Irish bar, sat outside by the river with the cute wooden roofed bridge going across. Then we found another bar and stayed there a while, before Martina had to get the last train home.


Next day we got up pretty late and I walked into town to have a look around, while Sarah went to an appointment. I saw the church and the huge, beautiful lake, which I sat staring at for a long time. I was watching the stupid tourists trying to stroke the swans - of course failing miserably - and one swan try to steal a cigarette out of a mans’ hand. Then I went to meet Sarah. We walked around the old town for a bit, got a pouletschnitzel - not as gross as it sounds - and we walked down one street with loads of shops and restaurants for all the different ethnic groups in Luzern. That was a really interesting street, Chinese food shops next to Indian clothes shops, next to Mexican restaurants, next to African general stores. Above the town is a wall, which used to be the fortified town wall. We went up one of the towers to see a fantastic view of the town and river. There are so many beautiful buildings in Luzern and mountains all around.


For dinner we went to meet Sarah’s mother and father, and they treated us to a meal. I had no idea what to order, having no clue about Swiss food, so let them order for me. I had rosti; like hash browned shreaded potatoes, and veal, which I swore to myself I would never eat, but When in Rome and all that! It was really nice! And Sarah’s parents were so lovely, they said I could go and visit them in their little farm house in the country if I wanted to! After dinner Sarah took me to a park near the lake where lots of people go to sit and chill and chat with friends. So we had a relax on the grass and then went home, a bit tired out! That evening we sat on the balcony and chatted to Sarah’s housemates, who are all very lovely. I found out some interesting things about Switzerland that night, like they have compulsory military service for all men. And the Swiss Germans use loads of French words, like merci, poulet, voila and salut!


We were hoping the weather would be good next day so we could go to the mountains, but it wasn’t! So we went for a coffee with Martina and their other friend Julia. We went in a nice little café near the lake, then went to buy some of the famous cake that Sarah and Martina had told me so much about, we sat in the park and ate it, delicious! Sarah wanted to go to a gig that evening, but for some reason we had it in our heads that it started at 5 so we got there really early! Martina came with us but then had to leave about 6.30. Sarah’s other friend turned up and then we went for Thai food, but we had to run to the restaurant because it was pouring with rain and thunder and lightening!


The party got started properly around 9pm, a few more friends turned up so we had a good chat, and Sarah’s friend whose party it was, and who was the main singer in the band, said a bit of a speech and we all sang happy birthday - in a weird kind of English, which surprised me a bit! The band were amazing, they are called Joan and the Sailors and are on myspace, they were a bit of a mix between Portishead, the Warlocks and Massive Attack, and the singer has such a fantastic voice. It’s been way to long since I’ve seen live music so I really enjoyed that night!


Sarah and I went home around 12 and got up together to go to the train station, with her flatmate Manuela as well, because they were going to get hair cuts! Later on I am going to Geneva so I am hoping to see Sarah there. She is moving there for a month to do some voluntary work and improve her French.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



1st September 2010

Switzerland a dream place
Hi, nice to see some information about switzerland. Switzerland is my dream place ever since I was a small child. Now, I am alomst 36, I would like to travel there some day. I am from BHUTAN. people say Switzerland and Bhutan have lots of common things, mountains, lakes,... So, whats yuo most interesting things that you found there?

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb