Poor Sleepy Lion


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
February 23rd 2010
Published: February 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

LUZERN Day 35



On my way to the train station I met the owner of the hostel that I stayed in the previous night. I was walking down the road staring up at the mountains and sky when I heard a man say ‘you look very relaxed for a small girl carrying such a large bag’ and I said ‘well it must be the fresh air’. He laughed and introduced himself, which is how I found out he owned the hostel. We chatted as we walked to the train station and he told me how he lived in Toronto for a few years when he was my age at Young and Adelaide. He reminisced about the leafs and maple leaf gardens. As we parted at the train station he gave me three pens: 1 for me, 1 for a friend, and 1 for your mother. So mom I have a pen for you. And he told me to tell you that it isn’t made in China and is actually made in Switzerland.

I took the scenic train from Luzern to Zurich. It was a stunning ride. The glacial lakes up here have the most delicious blue waters. I just wanted to swim, drink, and live in it. The view of the mountains and the small towns that you pass through is really great. On the way through a train station we passed a really funny train/snowblower. I could picture dad riding up and down the train tracks on this snow blower like he does walking up and down the street.

I arrived in Luzern and it is a pretty small place. Still really nice but you can see most of it in a few hours visit. Thankfully the weather was good so I walked around the old town and crossed the old wooden bridges, Chapel and Spreuer bridges. The bridges were lovely but they had really scary looking paintings inside of them of skeletons, they were called ‘dance of death’.

I then walked the old city walls and stopped off at the sad sculpture in the rock wall of ‘the dying lion of luzern’. It is to commemorate some soldiers of some battle but it is really sad. So I would rather think that the lion is just yawning before a big nap and not breathing his last breath. I headed back to the hostel.

Tomorrow will be Zurich on route to Munich.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb