Luzern, we are not the only tourists here!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
July 26th 2009
Published: August 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Colmar in Alsace, we made our way south to Switzerland. First stop to pay the highway tax in Basel. If you don't pay it, you end up hours on small roads, and I'm not sure this is a great idea with two wonderful monsters sitting in the back of the car. I need to point that so far, they have been impressive and well behave at the back of the car...I'm wondering what is the real effect of the candies we bought in Holland with Ma'ri for them few days ago!

The first game we played was...count the number of tunnels we are going through...but Leslie lost count very soon considering the number of tunnels. I think the longest one we went in Switzerland was around 6km. 14 years ago I cross Switzerland from Itlay up north to Germany, and I do remember one tunnel was around 20km....that was an experience...but I've since then forget the name of that tunnel!

I had the sight of a big "oh" and a massive smile from Leslie and Tiffany each time I was pointing at a snowy peak (for the smile, this is through the rear mirror!)...or any other beautiful landscape on the way. We headed straight to Luzern on a beautiful, and very sunny sunday afternoon. The place was packed with tourists, and I had no other way than to park in a seriously expensive underground car park. I'm still wondering how many nationalities and languages we came across in the few hours we were in town!

The last and only time I came to Luzern was back in 1995. At the time, I was a tour director for a group of Americans on one of these 10 days-10 countries by bus trip. I even slept in the city. I can tell you, we are doing a lot more these few days than any group could ever achieve around Europe...guess we are not losing our time waiting for people in tourist shops!

So a great walk around the lake, the river, the famous wooden bridge...and up the hills in the Old Town. Another city full of flowers, another amazing experience due also, I must admit, mainly to the sun.

Leslie can do miles walking in a day...but for Tiffany, it's another story...so we kept the pace of the slower member of the family. At just 7, she is now a little to heavy for me to be able to carry her on my shoulders...even if she wishes so!

The children love the swans, the ducks on the river and the lake. But they were a little disappointed due to the lack of fishes spoiting!

We did not stop for chocolate...as our car is full of them already. And after few kilometers around the city...and very thirsty Leslie and Tiffany, we made our way back to the car. Next stop was up north in Zurich to reach our hotel. Luzern is very nice, but I'm not yet ready to pay 90 euros for a night in an Ibis hotel or any non-descript 2 stars hotel. So we slept next to Zurich airport. I won't be able to write much about Zurich. We did cross the city by car...but after 600km in a single day...we all needed a good drink and some food and a proper room...for a great...long night!

Our next entry is coming soon...this time heading east for more wonderful scenery...and we are keeping the sun with us for the moment!

We are all counting the nights before being re-united with Ma'ri...so till there...with love, kisses from all of us!




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.789s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 28; qc: 42; dbt: 0.4635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb