Post tour escapades


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Berne » Magglingen
October 27th 2012
Published: October 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After the tour I spent two nights in a nice hotel (I'd prebooked it, figuring I'd need it, and boy was I right). Then I stayed a night with a Contiki friend in her hotel not far. After some days spent lunching and shopping on Oxford St and a night out in Soho, a lot of tour friends departed and I moved into the Watford flat again. I was here on my lonesome for two nights since the relos were in Tetford, so I got some washing done and tried to catch up on sleep. On my Aunt and Uncle's return it had already been agreed upon that I would then move in with my cousins since the flat is so small. Problem was I had never met them. But was planning to stay with them for a week. I'm not an awkward person, but I was worred since it WAS an awkward situation. Luckily I'd worried for nothing and my Berkhamsted family were just as lovely as I was promised they were. I spent time getting to know them and their local area hardly going into the city much at all. We booked my train tickets to Bristol, and my spur of the moment flights to Switzerland. Kaya had recently decided she was making the move from Sydney more permanent and would be living in Berne indefinitely. So why not head on over? I got to Berne via a train from Zurich after an flight with EasyJet. There were no problems until the very last small obstacle of actually finding Kaya at the Berne Barnoff (train station). Lukcily she's a practical girl and stayed at our meeting spot and didn't freak out when I wasn't precisely on time. Got there in the end though! It was a happy reunion as hadn't seen her in about 3 months.



Berne was a very cool city, and I can see why my friend wants to stay. It has some cool nightlife and stunning spots (which I expected from my previous visit to Switzerland!). Loved seeing where Kaya had grown up and spots she'd been as a youngster. We had lunch by the river and saw some bears in a bear pit. Bears bears bears!!! as I put it...I liked the bears...



After thanking Kaya's family for their very kind hospitality and delicious traditional food (oh the raclette! good lord, the chocolate!!), I was off back to London Luton Airport where my cousin kindly picked me up. I spent another two nights with them in my attic room and helped out with my cousin's thirteenth birthday party on my last night. Next morning it was (FINALLY!!) off to Bristol...but that's for the next blog. So you will just have to click on that 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb