So the season ended like this….


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Baden
March 19th 2006
Published: April 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Si big railSi big railSi big rail

Me hitting the rail, my ankle is well strapped up and i'm almost hallucinating on painkillers, great fun though.
We’d had pretty crap weather for about 2 weeks that meant a lot of snow but poor visibility. Eventually the blue bird came and with only 10 days left to go the decision was made to start hitting everything big and fast and try and get some big airs in before the season finished. You can see the last powder drop in the photo (about 15-18'); I didn’t land this but was close enough to be confident of landing it within a few more attempts! However with the beautiful blue sky and overconfidence of almost landing that one, I hit another drop off (of a similar size) a little too fast, lunched big time and hurt my ankle. That was the last time I would be riding this season. A sleepless night followed in a lot of pain! The next day a visit to the wise woman told me nothing was broken and it was probably a bad sprain, it was 4 days before I could walk on it, a week before it was comfortable. However with 2 days to go and beautiful weather I couldn’t help but load up on painkillers and have a play in our garden park. I’d
Si last powder dropSi last powder dropSi last powder drop

Though I diddn't land this, It felt very comfortable and pretty big, a few more attempts would see it stuck.
been planning for some time to build a rail across the path that lead to our chalet and put a nice little 3’ drop off at the end and with my ankle firmly strapped up inside my boots I set about building it. The results of which can be seen in two of the photos, an awesome day.

The final day of the season saw an attempt at the Holy Grail we’d been working on all season, the back flip! A new kicker was built for the attempt and we started hitting, Nick actually landed one, I came so close on two attempts I almost cried with frustration. Ah well, something to look forward to next year.

What an amazing way to spend 3 months.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Nick jumpNick jump
Nick jump

What a cool photo! Nick jumping off our chalet in the deep snow beside it.
Si snow chairSi snow chair
Si snow chair

The thinks you get up to when you not riding, here I am posing on a sofa Nick built out of snow.
Nick backflipNick backflip
Nick backflip

Yes, the black flip, he did land this, an amazing effort!
Si Big Rail 2 Si Big Rail 2
Si Big Rail 2

I knida like the camera angle on this, plus I love riding in just a t-shirt.


4th April 2006

so ur coming back
to england for a bit? i am still here in london. but not for long, i will move to liverpool in august! xxx mary
6th April 2006

kids
You're such a big kid!! XX

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb