Shopping in Vasteras


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
August 12th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me on Jan and Ulla's balconyMe on Jan and Ulla's balconyMe on Jan and Ulla's balcony

Enjoying the sun before hitting the shops.
Hi everyone,

Firstly, only one comment on my last blog (thanks Nat)? I miss them, especially the cheeky ones!

Today Jeff and I wandered around the old town part of Vasteras, it was lovely. Then we went shopping........again! As I mentioned previously, one of the few Swedish words I recognise is Rea, which means sale, so you can imagine my surprise when I saw a big sign that had sale on it plus another word. The picture included contains that other word. I'm sorry but my strange sense of humour found this very amusing.

I don't think I have mentioned this but you can't buy booze the way we do in NZ, well everywhere in NZ except Invercargill. In Sweden the State runs the booze outlets and sets the prices etc. The shops are only open for limited hours.........exactly like what happens in Invercargill. Yikes! So we have to plan carefully for when we might want to drink or buy some wine. You can't just suddenly decide you feel like a drink and nip out to the nearest bottle store, as here, sure as eggs are eggs, it will not be open.

Dee


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Common form of transportCommon form of transport
Common form of transport

People of all ages cycle everywhere.
The sign that cracked me upThe sign that cracked me up
The sign that cracked me up

Apparantly it means... end of the sale, or final sale.


Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb