It's raining :(


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Västerbotten County » Umeå
October 9th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

alidhems Centrumalidhems Centrumalidhems Centrum

the parking place in front of my room. during night there are usually lots of people there.
It's been awhile since I wrote something but I got a good excuse. I was studying and studying. I had to go back to Germany for a few days but not for fun but for my Vordiplom. I had to take the mathematics exam and .... tadaa ... I made it. But that's not the whole of it. Additionally I had to write another exam only 2 days later but here in Sweden. But guess what. I passed that too and now I am a really happy guy. So I thought it is about time to make an update.

Two days ago there was a International Pub in the medical students pub called Läkervillan and it was fun. Not so much fun was the next day though.

Anyway... I should tell you abit about Sweden. As you can guess its getting cold. Its 0 to 9 degrees Celsius but its not at all nice to be outside when its raining. And that is what is going on since I got up this morning. The good part is that my way to the Univeritet is as short as I can make it without living on campus. It takes me about
my housemy housemy house

thats where I live.
3 minutes by bike to get to my lecture room. But still I manage to get there too late. This morning was the first time that I wasn't the last one to come.

But I had just that one course and afterwards I had some ways to go to get some papers signed. I met a guy from Cameroon and we were looking for a African history event that just took place. I went there too but it was all in Swedish and so I left again pretty fast. There was no way for me to listen to People talking about a subject that happens to be a blank page in my book of knowledge.

I tried already some swedish specialities - Some are really nice and some are just the worst you can eat. Lets start with the nice ones. I had some Kanelbullar - Swedish cinnamon buns. I ate too many of them but I will try to make some this weekend since we have "FIKA" at 8 'o'clock. Fika is a Swedish tradition and it refers to drinking coffe, having a talk and some small things to eat. First I thought it is like "Kaffee
Arlanda AirportArlanda AirportArlanda Airport

I was there when I got to Germany and back.
und Kuchen" in Germany but I was wrong because Fika you can do about every time in day. Another really good thing is Knäckebröd with salted butter. This is just about the best thing you can eat to prevent a hangover besides Köttbullar with spaghetti and ketchup.
So and now comes the less fun part. There is that fish in metal cans. It is called Surströmming which means as much as sour herring. It is fermented herring and disgusting. It tastes almost as bad as it smells and I heard that people have been sued because they messed around with this smelly liquid that comes with it. The production is fairly easy. The fish is just put into the can with yeast and close it ... and then it rots. Dont do it if you have a queasy stomach. I have no pictures from that event because I got my camera when I was in Germany. But now I will try to make some more pictures.

On my way to uni I usually pass a place where I can see the river. I hope I can make a nice picture with that cool panorama special I have in my
02 nahe Mariehem02 nahe Mariehem02 nahe Mariehem

just some nice place I have seen while biking around
camera.

Yesterday I put some pictures on my walls and now it looks much more cosy in my room. But I am hungry now so I will make some food now and I will keep up the writing. I promise.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

KanelbullarKanelbullar
Kanelbullar

those are the kanelbullar that I made


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb