My Wife Gives Me Two Weeks Off For Good Behavior Every Year-Scandinavia-Summer 2011


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Värmland County » Gräsmarks socken
August 10th 2011
Published: June 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

GrasmarkGrasmarkGrasmark

View from the restaurant
Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Well, I left Jessheim (pronounced yes-hime) this AM @ 5:30. It rained incessantly the entire day. I found a great tourist info bureau literally right on the border at morokoulian. A line went through the middle of the room denoting Norway & Sweden. I took pics standing & pointing. I finally p/u postcards but didn't get any Norwegian cards. I asked why there weren't any cards showing rain. The hostess recommended that I go to sonne tonight about 75 Km from that point. I tried but after getting a blow out after @ 10 km into the final leg, i was slowed down severely. At that point my derailer began to act up, the blowout slowed me down as well as the mountains. I guess there are mountains everywhere. When I asked people, "How far?". The answers seemed to indicate over 200 km.

The rain was nearly unbearable at times, but now that it's done, I feel tired & 'proud. I swear there were times that Icould see my breath! That means it dropped into the 40's. The conditions bordered on dangerous. Someday I will reload/update my playlist. I have @ 2,000 songs, but in
GrasmarkGrasmarkGrasmark

View from the restaurant
my excessive way I want more. I haven't updated in 5 yrs. For now, all I do is think. I rewind dreams, visions, lucid dreams, aspirations, scenarios w/dad, bills, etc. Of course I had time to drive to MD for karaoke and a 16 hr visit. Selfish! Today is moms birthday. I hope Austin & Courtney called as I asked. They won't understand the importance until their late 20'S.

I pushed onto to Grasmark where I found a BB-stuvettsgard-980 kr. Not sure how much this is, but it can't be good. They are drying my clothes for me while i relax. The room is very nice and, best of all, warm and dry! At the restaurant is kalasmakeriet pa prastgar. Looks very she-she, the buffet was @ ys190 kr There is a guy on guitar w/a recorded back up band. I saw James Taylor who did the same thing. One of the bet shows i've ever seen! 99 percent of the songs raw English language. This guystarted off ok, but just played paradise city w/a reggae back beat. I went back for my iPad, postcards, & map. I have some ideas for Lisa 2 use interspecies concept w/the moose
GrasmarkGrasmarkGrasmark

View from the restaurant
again.

Tomorrow I need to kick ass again. I'll leave here after breakfast, not until 9 AM-drats! I hope to ride to Sunne (45-25 km), across 240 to munkforts (29 km), then off to filipstad. Looks like an unmarked, probably dirt road. Won't take if that's the case. My goal is kopparburg-rt 63- 72 km. Let's see.

Although everyone has been friendly & cooperative, very few people have asked where I'm off to from, etc. A few people waved & honked. One asshole blasted his horn at me. Many woman have stared-I'll take this as a compliment, although as I get older I have to doubt it. I know my wife Kathy draws a crowd when she hits the streets, but I don't think it works as well for me. After I leave a store or on the run/Esso station, little children always stare & ask their mothers about me. Again, I hope the answers are complimentary.

Found a grreat restaurnt on lake within walkind distance from the B&B. All the Muzak is English, Everyone speaks my language, and just like I noticed in France, american culture is dominant everywhere. I hope this continues throughout my lifetime.
GrasmarkGrasmarkGrasmark

View from the restaurant


Oh, I can't seem to get internet on my phone and iPad tonight, even after pay for extra svc.
Signing off. I love u Kathy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

GrasmarkGrasmark
Grasmark

Restaurant
Man & GuitarMan & Guitar
Man & Guitar

Live entertainment! Enlgish songs with Swedish accent.
NorwayNorway
Norway

Visitor's Center-Norway/Sweden border line.
GrasmarkGrasmark
Grasmark

View from the restaurant
SwedenSweden
Sweden

Visitor's Center-Norway/Sweden border line.
BlowoutBlowout
Blowout

Pouring rain, fixing flat, not the best experience.
Ready to goReady to go
Ready to go

Bike is back together!
ViewsViews
Views

This doesn't give it justice!


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb