Sweden


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
August 12th 2006
Published: August 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone, quite a bit has happened since we both made our last entries. For starters we are now both in the same country again and that country is quite different to the one where we met up again. For both of us is was quite difficult for a few reasons to leave our adopted countries of residence, Germany and Canada. The thought of travelling to Sweden and Thailand did take the edge off a bit but it was still difficult.

Kristian and I have talked about what advise we would give to people setting off on a trip like ours; Socks, bring lots of socks. But also you should always ask yourself this: In this city, where I am flying out of, is there 2 airports? Because sometimes there are, and sometimes you spend 3 hours on a train going to the wrong one. And thats what I did. I asked at the information for the Ryanair terminal and they said thats at the other airport. Where's that? I asked. 120km from here. You're shitting me??!! I blurted out. But no he wasn't. Fortunately Kristian made the same mistake. I rang him to see where he was and he said "sorry mate I stuffed up, I'm at the wrong airport. I said "me too". Fortunately we also had 5 hours til our flight left, so we got the shuttle bus and made it with plenty of time. Now Germany is relatively small so I don't know how an airport 120km from Frankfurt can still be called Frankfurt Airport?? The RyanAir plane was pretty old, so much so that when we landed everyone started clapping!

Just like the Frankfurt Airport, the "Stockholm" Airport was 100km from Stockholm! Crazy! So we got into our hostel at 1.30am very, very tired. So we spent 6 days in Sweden and yes its true. Its all true. Yes they all are, and yes they are everywhere. Its insane. No exaggerations. Its just true. Its also really expensive. I don't think its anything to do with the economy or exchange rate, its just if it were to be cheap, every guy in the world would move there.

The hostel we were staying at was actually a primary school that moonlights as a hostel in the holidays so it was quite cheap and central. We met some really cool people there. Actually one night I was retrieving a Carlsbergh from the shared fridge and another guy was putting something in the freezer. I looked at him and asked "Do I know you?". He said that I looked familiar too, but neither of us could figure out where we knew each other from, so I said come outside for a beer later on and we'll figure it out. So he came out and we started running through the places we'd been, and he said Germany during the world cup. That was it! Kristian and I had actually spent all afternoon drinking with him and his mate in the Beer Garden in Tubingen during the Australia-Japan game. Small world.

Now we are in Thailand and for the moment are staying on Koh Samui. Its a pretty sweet deal here. So much cheaper, what you pay for 1 beer in Sweden gets you 6 here. There are other differences too: whereas in Sweden most of the women are hot, here a fair proportion of them seem to be well, umm, men. They also have an "Australia Network" channel here and last night by coincidence my footy team, Essendon, was playing Kristian's, Collingwood. So we watched our first game of footy for this entire season. Essendon won but we still suck, could be the end of poor old Sheeds. This Australia Network things is kinda scary, makes me feel like we are already home. The other day I turned on the TV and Stingers was on, and on Sunday they are going to have a Home and Away special. Man. Its been so long since I have seen Australian TV that last night I couldn't believe how Aussie Gary Lyon sounded. Although I think when you are not around Aussie's you don't loose your accent but it definitely softens slighty. Apparently Chelsea was astounded when Kristian talked to his folks on the phone because his accent got twice as thick.

So we are having a grand time in Thailand and will one day soon be back in New Zealand's West Island, as the Kiwi's like to refer to Australia as.

Hope everyone is well back home!

John

Advertisement



12th August 2006

Better late than never
Having recently gone live on the internet, we decided to catch up with your travels, whilst having a few drinks. As it turns out, we are now rather pissed due to having missed out on so much of the trip. Pudd keep your hands to yourself now that you are in Thailand. Looking forward to seeing you again, and hearing the live version and seeing all the pics, Love Andrew and Katie.... P.S Andrew says he doesnt love you, sorry.... maybe try lady boy, they love you long time

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0867s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb